Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Wow these are really good! They taste better than the York Peppermint Patties. I did use a whole can of sweetened condensed milk. It was about 1 1/4 cups. I just adjusted the sugar. I didn't measure, just kept adding and mixing until it was not sticky. I added 1 TBS of peppermint extract. Others said it wasn't enough peppermint. Mine are perfect! I formed them into patties, let it sit overnight. Don't make the patties too big. Then I dipped half in chocolate and let it set chocolate side up. To speed up the process, I put the tray in the freezer, then dipped again. I used dark chocolate. MMMMMM....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
They were good, but a total mess. After much trial and error, though, I did manage a few presentable ones for Christmas cookie plates to give away. Hope it goes smoother this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Kathryn
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
These seem to get easier every time I make them! I let mine dry for about 3 hours and that seemed to prevent them falling apart when dipping. I added a large chunk of Copha (shortening) instead of butter to get the chocolate thin enough. I have also made these with strawberry essence and coconut extract. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
These were so tasty! I made them just bigger than quarters - which means I had over 100 of them. The size worked well because they didn't fall apart in the chocolate since they fit on the fork. To anyone who hasn't ever dipped things in chocolate, might I suggest reading up on it first. I did not know that a single drop of water could ruin the melted choclate and worse, I added some butter to get the hardened chocolate back to a normal consistency. I had no clue why my patties weren't hardening after being dipped. They had to stay in the freezer until we ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Great! The boys in the family loved them, not diet food though! Very sweet, I made my own peppermint extract by boiling some minced peppermint and draining off liquid into my mix. Worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I thought this would come out more like fondant or marzipan. It definately took more than two hours to harden, try 24-36. I could have possibly added more powdered sugar or lessened the milk (?). I also felt the peppermint flavor was too strong. One dram, or maybe less, would have probably been sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Yummy. Definitely freeze the peppermint wafers first before dipping into chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Soooo good. I used 3 1/2 cups of powdered sugar, 2 tsps. mint extract, with a dash of almond extract. Instead of patties, rolled into smaller than marble sized balls. Put on waxed paper, froze, then dipped one at a time in choc. Can also drizzle choc. on balls, but the dipped do look alot nicer, if giving away. Good project to do in front of t.v. when you're not in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Waite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 for appearance not taste. The taste was great, although I will use 3.5 instead of 4 cups of conf. sugar next time for an even creamier middle. I had no probelms with the middle falling apart. I just put them in the freezer for about an hour, and they held together perfect. The chocolate didn't look as nice as I wanted it too after dipping - it did not have a smooth finish to it. Not a big deal, really, but when given as gifts you want them to look perfect. I will surely make these again with noted changes! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZWITH3GIRLS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I made these patties as a last minute addition to my holiday treats and boy am I glad I did. They are heavenly and really easy to make. In addition to the peppermint extract,I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract and I only needed 3 cups of powdered sugar. In my opinion,these taste a whole lot better than the national brand we all know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States