Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I use to make these for family around christmas time but lost my recipe. This was just like mine and was easy to make. i always colored my filling green and instead of dipping the mints into chocolate would drizzle chocolate over them. That was just easier for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
We loved these! I made them exactly as the recipe and they turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I'm not a huge PP fan, but my wife is so i figured i would make these for her for a surprise. Well lets say I love peppermint patties now!! Everyone loved them, i almost had to beat the kids off with a wooden spoon to keep them from swipping all the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by will

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Wonderful recipe. Try the suggestion of using damp hands to roll the balls but, not too damp. Big help! Also, instead of air dry the flaten discs were placed in the freezer about 20 minutes. I only took a few out at a time to dip in chocolate. As another person suggested let the chocolate cool a few minutes before dipping. This worked perfectly. You can use a tad bit more of shorting to loosen the mix if necessary. Hershey Special Dark Chips were used. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I love this Recipe!! For added fun last Christmas I devided the recipe and used food coloring to make half of them red and half green, then only dipped them in the chocolate half way- festive and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahNicole131

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
They are great! This was my first experience dipping anything into chocolate and I think I should have made them thicker and smaller because they began to melt once I dipped them into the chocolate. So I ended up brushing on the chocolate and they came out good, not professional looking but who cares as long as they taste good and were presentable, but kids and hubby didn't care and loved them. I ended up freezing them once I put the chocolate coating on and are pulled out of the freezer as they are eaten. Still gave it five stars because they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Epicurelady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
These are really good. And it makes alot.I used the whole can of milk, put a little more extract [1\2 tsp?] and about a cup or so more sugar. I was doing heaping TBSP's. after awhile to get the right texture. I made mine small, dime size, then flattened. I just let them air dry. By the time I was done making and flattening, and melting chocolate, I started at the beggining of my mints to start dunking, I just dropped one in [so the bottom had chocolate] picked up with a fork, used a spoon to pour choco. on top of mint, then tapped the side of my pan to tap off extra chocolate, dried on parchment paper. Excellent. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
These were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
After a few snaffus, the end result was great. I read many of the reviews, so I knew to chill the mint before trying to dip it in the chocolate. But no ones mentioned in the previous reviews that the choc chips gave them any trouble. Mine came out TERRIBLE. The chips melted with the shortening resulted in a goopey, grainy mess. I threw the chocolate away, went back to the grocery store and bought the melting chocolate (almond bark chocolate) that I use to dip pretzels and such. I microwaved it and it worked fine. I won 2nd place at a cooking contest party! They really are delicious if you skip the chips and shortening and stick with good ole' melting chocolate. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali4474

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
These are great. Only need 3.5 cups of the sugar. Makes so many! But I noticed that they get stale a little quicker than I liked (and I did wrap them in candy foils).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States