Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Okay, I had a hard time rating these because the flavor is AMAZING, but I had to deviate so far from the instructions to make these work, but in the end, I think taste is more important, so I went with 5 stars. The flavor is truly FANTASTIC! Better than York's. I made these for my husband for Valentines Day this past holiday and he loved them so much that he has asked for them nearly every week or two since, and said that he can't even eat York's anymore! Haha. But anyway, this is what I did. I used all of the same ingredients (except I used butter instead of shortening) and followed the same instructions all the way up until the "turning once" part. I was not able to turn them, even after 1 hours and 20 minutes, because they were still not hard enough. So I just left them. Then, after that, I halved the chocolate/"shortening" mix and melted that down over a double boiler, but I had to add a little bit of milk to make them melt (I'm sure cream would be better, but I didn't have it and the milk still worked and tasted great). As for how much milk, I just eye-balled. Maybe 3 tablespoons or so? Anyway, once that melted, I just poured it over the patties and made it as nice and circular as I could. I put them in the fridge, where they need to sit for at least an hour. Then I get them back out, flip them over (which worked fine once they were cold), then repeated the process. I'd let them harden another hour at least, cut off the excess chocolate, put in a pretty container...done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
they were tasty we had to freeze the patties before dipping them in the chocolate so that the patties wouldn't melt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
just mediocore
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I am crazy for mint chocolate anything. The consistency of my dough was perfect, but it wasn't nearly minty enough! I added more extract after tasting it, but I feel like I could've doubled the extract entirely and been happy. Maybe I just reaaally like mint. :P I'd definitely try the other reviewer's tips because I had little success dipping the patties directly into the chocolate. I ended up using a spoon to 'paint' the chocolate onto one side, flip it over, and 'paint' the other side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by notabrat1
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
These are good, I made them for St. Valentine's day for my husband. They are very yummy, but next time I'll make them smaller than my smallest cookie scoop. These are very soft and difficult to dip in the chocolate, but worth the effort. I froze mine over night before I dipped them, but it didn't greatly help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notabrat1
Home Town: Sikeston, Missouri, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I found this recipe almost 10 years ago and have made it every Christmas since. I do sometimes have to play with the amount of sugar vs.condensed milk, but I love this recipe. Smaller patties work perfect for dipping because they don't break. I can't handle the store patties as I feel like I'm eating toothpaste, and I love that I can control how much peppermint goes into this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
They came out great! My husband's coworkers called them "a delight"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne Parrott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
They look good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenQueen
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Have already rated this before and left comments but had to share! Over the weekend I tried this recipe with orange and cherry extracts....oh my goodness!!! So yummy! Raspberry is next on my list! I had to use more orange extract than what the recipe calls for (add a little at a time until you get the taste you want) and also added food coloring before adding sugar. They came out fabulous and everyone I've given samples to LOVES them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenQueen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
What am I doing wrong? It's not forming dough but a sticky liquid mess! I added the sugar very slowly too.\
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States