Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Make around Christmas time and that will be the biggest talk of the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I just made these today and they are amazing! I used the suggestions to reduce the powdered sugar by 1/2 cup and add an additional teaspoon of peppermint. The main thing I changed on my own is that I actually rolled them out and used my small biscuit cutter to make them all uniform in size. Worked perfectly! I just had to put a little extra p.s. on the waxed paper first. I will definitely make these again. I actually think they are better than York!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I loved this recipe! Simple, but great. I didn't stick to the measurements exactly since I wanted to use the whole can of sweetened condensed milk, but you want to eyeball the addition of the confectioners' sugar anyway--keep adding it until the "dough" is no longer sticky. Will definitely make these again, and maybe more adventurously so... the dough can easily be molded into fun shapes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is a very nice recipe. One reviewer suggested using 3 1/2 cups powdered sugar instead of the stated 4 cups in the recipe. I used a stand mixer to incorporate the ingredients, but added 1/4 cup more powdered sugar, as it is still a bit tacky to handle. You can chill them for 10 or 15 minutes prior to dipping them in the chocolate. I would suggest the melted chocolate be at room temperature; otherwise, the patties will disentegrate. You can also use a two-tine fork to dip the patties (find them at Michaels where they have baking supplies), which I found more useful than household forks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Everyone LOVED them!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I must have made them thinner because I got twice as much out of the batter. I ended up using a lot more shortening to thin the chocolate to dipping consistency. I loved them and so did everyone I gave them to for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Tasty, but a real pain to make. Too melty to include in treat bags as I intended. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
The taste is amazing but I'm deducting some star points for the recipe technique. Oh my goodness did I ever have a time getting a single patty coated with chocolate without a complete breakdown/melting of the patty. Finally had success spooning chocolate on the patties, letting it set, and flipping to cover the other side. Also did a batch with cinnamon extract. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
So easy. And a huge Christmas hit every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
These do taste just like a peppermint patty, but dipping them wasn't all that easy. The heat from the chocolate "melted" the patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States