Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I made these a few days go, but had a problem with it being too dry. I couldn't get it to form into a ball mixture. I scrapped the 1st batch and started over. I used about a cup less confectioner's sugar and that resulted in a better ball form. In the process of drying, it took more then 2 hours to dry. So I let them set over night. I went to dip into chocolate and they started to melt. Hence a 3rd batch. I tasted the mint mixture and the flavor was spot on. Love mint! However, My kids had other ideas in mind when I made them the 3rd time. I had them drying and proceeded to dip them yet again. To find my youngest had a tummy ache from eating the entire batch without them being dipped. So I never got a chance to dip them. SO a 4th time I made these, I'm now an expert, I warded off the kids from touching them until I was completely done. Now I finally got a great batch but still had to do with less powdered sugar then the recipe calls for around 4 1/2 to 5 cups of confectioner's sugar. All in all the result was very good. However a note for others. Have plastic wrap handy to cover the mixture as you are pinching off the dough to keep moist while you are working with it. It does start to dry out fast. Thanks I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
Wonderful recipe! After shaping, I put in the freezer for about an hour and then dipped in melted semi sweet chocolate chips. They turned out pretty and tasted great! I will be making these as gifts for the holidays next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I loved this recipe! I love peppermint patties and thought these were close. The only difference is the milk chocolate instead of the dark that is used with the brand. My son told me he liked these better than the ones you buy. Very good! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
These are better than any that you can buy in the store. However, you really need to make these small because a little goes a long way. I added a few tablespoons of corn syrup to the peppermint mixture because many reviews said they were dry. Then I rolled balls and flattened them. Then I froze the mints and dipped them while still frozen. I did not have any troubles with the mints melting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syndi Harris Bowlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Love this recipe! I've made these for the last 2 years and given them (along with my home made peanut butter cups) to my daughters' teachers. I follow the recipe as written but instead of rolling it out, I roll the dough into little balls and flatten them a bit I put a small amount of chocolate in the bottom of a MINI cupcake liner place the dough on top and cover with a little more chocolate. YUMMY and so pretty with Christmas themed paper liners
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
My husband loves peppermint patties so I made them for my Christmas baking and he loves them, my father in law ate 6 of them!! I used dark chocolate and a TBS of criso because it gives the chocolate a nice shine. This will be a Christmas tradition for years to come in our family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandasimmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
These taste very similar to York Peppermint Patties - Yum! The only difference is that they are a bit drier. They are also slightly difficult to dip in the chocolate -- I found it easier to press the mixture in a pan and pour the chocolate on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Excellent patties. Rich and smooth tasting. Super simple to make and a wonderful gift. I used a can of store brand sweetened condensed milk and ended up needing a can and a half but still delicious and made a nice soft bowl of candy dough to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Terrible! So dry and leaves terrible after taste. Nothing like york.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
These were delicious!! The filling is a bit firmer than the real thing, but tastes just as good. I found they were very easy to form and dip. As long as the disks are dry they hold together great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROCKETMOMKD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States