Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I have made this recipe for the last 4 years and everyone loves them. The first year my sister in law didn't believe that I made them, she thought I had just unwrapped York peppermint patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
My husband went bonkers for these... really simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeMama71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winslow, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
These turned out great - but weren't the easiest in the world to make. Based on others reviews, I started with only 4 cups of sugar. However, I ended up with a sticky, chewed bubble-gum type consistency that was horrible to work with. So, I continued to add a bit more sugar until I got to a consistency that could be easily rolled into a ball. I'm guessing I ended up around 5 cups of sugar. I'm not familiar with Candy chocolate, so I used a mix of semi-sweet and dark chocolate chips (with added oil as noted on the package for dipping fruit.) It worked - but these were a real pain to dip so I think next time I'll try the candy chocolate. Everyone who tried them - loved them, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
These are superb. Measure the sugar closely. I was a bit over, and they were a difficult to shape (too crumbly). They're not kidding when they say that the yield 8 dozen. That's 8 dozen little balls to shape, press and dip. So, plan several hours for this project. But, they're well worth it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
So fun and they taste very similar to York. Make sure you use peppermint extract. I used a peppermint/spearmint blend and mine didn't taste exactly the same. Flipping them is key to getting the rippled look. I don't think my batch made nearly 8 dozen. Maybe 4 dozen at most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
awsome tastes way better then york peppermint pattys
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Braymen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I was looking for something fairly simple to add to Christmas gifts and this was one of the candies I chose. After reading ALL the reviews, I was prepared to add extra powdered sugar, to not use as much powdered sugar, more peppermint, less peppermint, etc. I used about the powdered sugar called for - added some for kneading at the end. I started out with 2 tsps. of peppermint because what I had was quality oil. It was way too strong. I doubled the batch and it's still a bit stronger than I'd like, but the chocolate helped some with that. Next time, I'd start w/ about 1/2 tsp. and test before I added more. I froze them as posters suggested and that worked beautifully. I had 24 per pan in the freezer and really, I could have thrown them back in after about 15 of them so they'd handle better. They look great. They taste great (like I said, a little bit strong on the peppermint for me). I made those for the last 2 pans smaller and I like how they look better. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
this recipe started off strong, and then totally crumbled. how do you create a dough ball from the evaporated milk and confectioners sugar? it turned into a blob of goo, and i couldn't even get it off the counter top. so i tried it again, but this time didn't attempt the "dough ball" and just dipped from my bowl of ingredients. i used the candy coating, as the recipe called for, but like another reviewer, my filling completely melted in the chocolate. there was absolutely no structure to my "york patties". It may be tasty, but it is completely unidentifiable, and easily the messiest recipe i've ever dealt with. i'd love any hints or suggestions from the reviewers who loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Good but not amazing. I don't know what would make them better but I'd like them a little creamier. I only used about 3/4 of the sugar listed but thought they were still a little dry. Good flavour though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
They taste really good. Just a little difficult to make and you have to try making it once to figure out the nuances. Like, how much chocolate to use for each patty, and that you have to make them small to have enough chocolate for all of them if you only use the amount the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra Lynn Markham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States