Peppermint Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Let me save you the headache of making the mistake I did... I have never made meringue before, and I thought, "How could 2 egg whites possible make 48???" So I doubled the recipe. I never did get "stiff peaks" so I dumped and started over, this time following the recipe...mostly. I didn't have candycanes, so I used peppermint extract and green food coloring. I followed one other poster's advice and used a ziploc baggie with a corner cut out to pipe out perfect little hershey's kiss sized meringues. I got at least 48! I found that after cooking for the 1.5 hrs, I only had to let them sit in there for about an hour more, and they were perfectly done. Very easy, no fat, probably could be done with splenda to be low cal as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
717 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This is a great recipe, but I just had to clarify one of the suggestions made by another reviewer. Meringue CANNOT be made with Splenda. It won't set correctly and will be a waste of your time, promise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
446 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
Very easy to make, and turned out perfect! Next time I might add a drop of peppermint extract to the egg whites. By adding a little food coloring, you can make these year-round (green for St. Patrick's Day, red for Valentine's Day, etc.) Instead of lining the cookie sheets with foil, I used parchment paper with great results. A regular meringue cookie maker told me to never make meringues on a humid or rainy day because they will flop. You may want to keep this in mind when making them. I'll be making these again. They were impressive, yet so simple (and inexpensive) to make!!! Great for low-fat dieters also!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
315 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
THESE MERINGUES ARE VERY GOOD. DID MAKE WITH 8 EGG YOLKS AND 2 CUPS OF SUGAR. CUT THE SUGAR IN HALF AND USED "SPLENDA - MEASURES THE SAME AS SUGAR" FOR THE OTHER HALF. CUTS WAY DOWN ON THE CALORIES. YOU CAN ADD ANY TYPE OF EXTRACT, VANILLA, MAPLE, ETC...OR EVEN COCOA POWDER TO THESE TO CHANGE THE FLAVOR, BUT REMEMBER TO ADD ALITTLE EXTRA SUGAR IF ADDING THE EXTRACT TO KEEP UP THE CONSISTENCY OF THE MERINGUES. THE MORE SUGAR THAT YOU ADD THE CRISPIER THEY BECOME. ALSO YOU CAN SPINKLE THESE WITH COLORED SUGAR, CINNAMON AND SUGAR, OR EVEN FLAVORED JELLO (ALSO YOU CAN PUT JELLO IN THEM FOR FRUIT FLAVORED MERINGUES) FOR FUN COLORS AND TASTE, ADD MINI CHOCOLATE CHIPS, KIDS LOVE THEM. ALLOW TO BAKE FOR THE FULL 90 MINUTES AND THEM SHUT THE OVEN OFF AND LEAVE IN OVEN FOR ANOTHER HOUR. IF COOKING MORE THAN ONE TRAY ADD ABOUT 10 MINUTES COOKING TIME FOR EACH TRAY AND ROTATE TRAYS 1/2 WAY THROUGH COOKING. THIS HELPS FOR ALL THE MOISTURE TO BE EVAPORATED. MERINGUES ARE SUPPOSED TO BE CRISP ALL THE WAY THROUGH, NOT CHEWY IN THE CENTER. CAN PIPE THESE THROUGH A PASTRY PAG WITH LARGE DECORATIVE TIP TO MAKE FANCY MERINGUES. BEST TO BAKE ON PARCHMENT PAPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
This was a fast and easy recipe. If you do want to add peppermint extract, only 1/2 tea. is needed. any more makes the egg whites fall. Trust me. It took me 2 times to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
As a long time meringue maker and daughter of professional bakers, let me share a few tips. First of all, check your oven temperature. Put a thermometer in your oven and see if it's running hotter than your set temp. Never put meringues on foil, always use parchment paper. They slide right off. Never, ever let any egg yolk get into your egg whites. They will not stiffen properly if even the smallest amount of egg yolk gets into your egg whites. Make sure you add the sugar slowly, beating well in between each addition. Don't try to beat egg whites by hand, always use a mixer. You need that extra speed and the air that gets into your whites with a mixer. Using a whisk will not achieve that result and a mixer is so much easier and quicker, too. Bring your eggs to room temp before trying to beat them. It just works better. Adjust the baking time based on the size of your meringues. Never take the meringues out until they're completely cool. Once they're cool, humidity shouldn't affect them at all. Meringues are so versatile and you can play with the flavors which makes them so much fun to make. They're really one of the easiest cookies you can make but you do have to be careful and you do have to follow the directions or they will be a flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
These are delicous and so pretty! I made the first batch as it stated, then made one batch with about 1 tsp. of peppermint extract. You have to fold it in after everything else is done. I tried to add it when I was whipping the egg whites and it fell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
These were a nice light treat. I put my eggs in a bowl of warm water to bring them to room temp. faster. My egg whites whipped up lickety split. I crushed the candy canes to a fine powder and mixed it in. Then I topped each one with a chocolate chip. Mmmm. And so easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oceanside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Just as i remembered as a kid. I did add in mini choc chips as well, which made these great. Once warning if you are adding to a plate of cookies for serving make sure you add them last. I made up a few trays the evening before and found that these cookies pulled moisture from other cookies and became a little chewy. Before being added to the trays they were not that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
These are excellent as a holiday candy! It's best to add a few drops of green food coloring while beating, then once stiff peaks are formed fold in the crushed candy cane and about a 1/4 bag of mini chocolate chips. I then put the mixture into a ziploc bag and cut a corner out to put onto the trays before baking-it definitely looks better (make the whole large enough to fit the chocolate chips through). They look like mini scoops of mint chocolate chip ice cream and they're delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States