Peppermint Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Very Good, but difficult to maintain temperature, which is key, in my Mexican oven. Browned slightly which gave them a different flavor. Very sweet, but don't know if reducing sugar is a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This is delicious, perfect meringue. I ended up making this recipe because I ended up with 8 egg whites from a soup I was making and thought it was wasteful to throw out the eggs. The slow cook on these is perfect in the oven. I ended up adding a splash of peppermint extract since I didn't have candy canes on hand (all in all maybe 1/4 tsp of peppermint). This resulted in a definite peppermint flavor that wasn't overwhelming -- more like a butter mint. I ended up with 50 or so meringues -- but I was making them rather large (1.5" to 2") and they cooked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
It started out easy but once all the ingredients were added in the bowl only like 1/4 of a inch the bottom of the bowl was full and they didn't even make peaks they were flat disks on a dry day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momofseven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I made this with the peppermint extract substitution as suggested by another reviewer. They were amazing!!!!!!! Thanks so much for sharing xoxoxoxoxoxo -------------------------------------------------------------- ETA: I make these as a Gluten-Free treat for my mom. I finely chopped up by hand a handful of Gluten-Free chocolate chips and added them in towards the end of the mixing. Thin and flaky pieces worked fine and didn't effect anything but the taste! They were the perfect Mint Chocolate Chip version :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
AWESOME!!!! And so easy! These little dandies were such a hit with my family last Christmas that I have a feeling they will be requested for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yuvanka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I added a touch of pink coloring and about 1/8th of a tsp peppermint extract. It only made 30 meringues, but they came out beautifully! everyone loved them. I will added peppermint stick at Christmas time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This was a really good recipe to add to my holiday collection! Although I did make some changes (I like to personalize recipes). 1. Eggs room temperature (Try putting them in a bowl of warm water. Someone else suggested this and it was a very smart way to speed up the process) 2. I use parchment paper on a light cookie sheet. 3. After whipping in a machine I folded in a bit of extract. I used 1/4 teaspoon almond this time, but vanilla and peppermint would be just as good. 4. I didn't use the crushed peppermint, however I believe that folding them in with the meringue is a good idea. 5. I used the old sandwhich bag as a piping bag trick to create perfectly sized treats. 6. Because mine were rather small I only baked roughly an hour. 7. I then turned off the over and left them in for half an hour. Then I went and cracked the oven open for another half an hour and Viola! Beautiful Meringues!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This is SUCH a great base recipe I gave it 5 stars.... I haven't used actual crushed peppermint (too scared it will fall), so I use peppermint extract instead. I've used other extracts with fantastic results as well... it just depends what I have on hand (vanilla, almond, etc.) and even added finely shaved chocolate once. Yum! These make wonderful and easy sweet treats for holidays and special occassions... just make sure you wait for a low-humidity day and store them in airtight containers or they will get chewy very fast. I usually fill a storage baggie with the mixture (carefully), and then I cut off a corner so I can squeeze out pretty little dollops about 2 inches in diameter. Works great! One other note: the cream of tartar isn't necessary in my experience... works just as well without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Made these for Christmas, they were great. Make sure you whip the meringue enough or the cookies don't hold their shape well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Perfect and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States