Peppermint Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I'm making this recipe right now. I squeeze-dried maraschino cherries then minced them. I gently folded in almond extract and the cherries after stiff peaks were reached. I used a gallon zip-lock bag with the tip snipped off. No parchment paper so I'm using the foil as in the recipe. They're so cute! And, so far, look perfect. Can't wait to get them out of the oven to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I loved these and they were a hit. If you add peppermint flavoring remember to NOT use peppermint oil. The oil will make the whites fall. Stick to peppermint extract and they will be fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I doubled the recipe and piped onto aluminum foil lined cookie sheet (ran out of parchment but the foil worked ok). The double batch made about 60 cookies for me... I piped out about 1-1/2 to 2 Tbsp per cookie. I added about 1/2 tsp Vanilla per batch. I baked for 1-1/2 hour as suggested then shut off oven and left in oven overnight (with door closed). These turned out perfectly. I would suggest a triple or 4x batch to make a good qty of cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Great recipe! The meringues are wonderfully tasty and I even snatched a few from the oven before they were done. However, I found it a little bland and chewy, and it took me several times to get it right. Try adding some almond extract for flavor, so dreamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I had high hopes for these cookies and they looked good--I followed the directions, of course. But after 90 minutes they were far from dry. After two hours, they were still gummy. At 2 1/2 hours I gave up. I hate wasting time and ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
these were great but I added 1/4 teaspoon of mint and that seemed like to much. did not use crushed candy. I will not use any mint next time but I am not very fond of mint, prettiest little red white and green stars I did post a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gram

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I have made this two Christmas's in a row and it is a huge hit! Keeping this in my Christmas cookie tin rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I rated this 3 stars because it lacked a lot of taste and they were to fragile after cooled. Also, this makes only about twenty SMALL meringues. I suggest adding peppermint extract, mint extract, or vanilla extract. Overall these were not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingkid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
It was great! I didn't add the candy canes. I just made "plain" ones and drizzled melted chocolate on them after they were fully cooled. Yum! My batch made 40. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Perfect! As always, the keys to meringues are finesse & patience. Added a *tiny* splash of peppermind extract. It tasted NOTHING like toothpaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States