Peppermint Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by boakley75
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Super easy recipe that me and my 9 year old son made. Everyone loved them, in fact, we may have to make a few batches and keep them on hand. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This was my first time making meringue cookies. It would have helped had the recipe had some specific information as to what to look for/how long to beat a meringue. I kind of guessed. They taste really good! I made the little Hershey's kiss sized ones and they got brown. :( Still delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Delicious crispy meringues- elicited a groan of pleasure from each member of the family who tasted them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
The meringue never formed stiff peeks. I went ahead and made them anyways but they were hard and very dry. I would not recommend this recipe. I ended up calling my Aunt, she had a great recipe that came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I made this recipe twice. Both times I left out the peppermint, piped them onto the wax paper with a number 1M tip (and parchment bag). Then sprinkled them with sugar sprinkles (which hold their shape better then most decorating sprinkles). This gave them a nice little sparkle. They went faster then any other dessert at our parties. I will defiantly do this again, maybe add a some jello...(for color and flavor). You can substitute for meringue powder (found at most cake decorating supply stores) for egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
My first shot at anything meringue. I tested out my skills using only 1 egg white at first to make sure I could identify the different stages of meringue (foam, soft peaks, stiff peaks). I highly suggest this test run for meringue newbies out there. Once I figured that out I started in with this recipe. Looking back I am glad I did the test run as I don’t think I would have beaten the “real” mixture as long as I needed to. The only change I made was to add 1/8 tsp of peppermint extract. I am currently sans stand mixer, so I used the trusty ol' hand held. I first beat the egg whites on low until they were foamy. At this point I added in the salt, cream of tartar & peppermint extract. I then beat the mixture some more, gradually increasing the mixer speed until I was at medium speed when the mixture hit the very beginning of the soft peak stage. At that time I began adding the sugar in (not all at once, work in a little at a time). By the time the firm peak stage was beginning all the sugar was incorporated and the mixer was up to high speed. I read somewhere online that once you have the sugar added that you can't overbeat the meringue - comforting to know. It took 10-15 minutes or so with the hand held mixer to get from the foam to the firm peak stage. After piping them onto the baking sheet, I dusted with crushed candy canes and a mixture of red & green decorating sugar. Baked exactly as directed, came out amazing! Will definitely make again - chocolate mint next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, New York, USA
Living In: Rotterdam, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Oh my! These little things are addictive! I mixed as directed, but folded some crushed peppermint into the mixture before piping them onto parchment paper. I baked them exactly 1 1/2 hours and cooled them in the oven with the door ajar for 1 hour. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Definitely added green food coloring and 1/8 tsp of peppermint extract at the very end of the process. Doing so sooner will prevent the eggs from stiffening. Delicious result though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
First time making meringue and all I can say is WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Tasty little bites of yumminess. Next time, I would like to add some peppermint extract to give it a little more flavor. Also, I think I would like to pipe these into swirls for a better presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 91-100 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States