Peppermint Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by boakley75
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Super easy recipe that me and my 9 year old son made. Everyone loved them, in fact, we may have to make a few batches and keep them on hand. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This was my first time making meringue cookies. It would have helped had the recipe had some specific information as to what to look for/how long to beat a meringue. I kind of guessed. They taste really good! I made the little Hershey's kiss sized ones and they got brown. :( Still delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Delicious crispy meringues- elicited a groan of pleasure from each member of the family who tasted them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
The meringue never formed stiff peeks. I went ahead and made them anyways but they were hard and very dry. I would not recommend this recipe. I ended up calling my Aunt, she had a great recipe that came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I made this recipe twice. Both times I left out the peppermint, piped them onto the wax paper with a number 1M tip (and parchment bag). Then sprinkled them with sugar sprinkles (which hold their shape better then most decorating sprinkles). This gave them a nice little sparkle. They went faster then any other dessert at our parties. I will defiantly do this again, maybe add a some jello...(for color and flavor). You can substitute for meringue powder (found at most cake decorating supply stores) for egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
My first shot at anything meringue. I tested out my skills using only 1 egg white at first to make sure I could identify the different stages of meringue (foam, soft peaks, stiff peaks). I highly suggest this test run for meringue newbies out there. Once I figured that out I started in with this recipe. Looking back I am glad I did the test run as I don’t think I would have beaten the “real” mixture as long as I needed to. The only change I made was to add 1/8 tsp of peppermint extract. I am currently sans stand mixer, so I used the trusty ol' hand held. I first beat the egg whites on low until they were foamy. At this point I added in the salt, cream of tartar & peppermint extract. I then beat the mixture some more, gradually increasing the mixer speed until I was at medium speed when the mixture hit the very beginning of the soft peak stage. At that time I began adding the sugar in (not all at once, work in a little at a time). By the time the firm peak stage was beginning all the sugar was incorporated and the mixer was up to high speed. I read somewhere online that once you have the sugar added that you can't overbeat the meringue - comforting to know. It took 10-15 minutes or so with the hand held mixer to get from the foam to the firm peak stage. After piping them onto the baking sheet, I dusted with crushed candy canes and a mixture of red & green decorating sugar. Baked exactly as directed, came out amazing! Will definitely make again - chocolate mint next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, New York, USA
Living In: Rotterdam, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Oh my! These little things are addictive! I mixed as directed, but folded some crushed peppermint into the mixture before piping them onto parchment paper. I baked them exactly 1 1/2 hours and cooled them in the oven with the door ajar for 1 hour. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Definitely added green food coloring and 1/8 tsp of peppermint extract at the very end of the process. Doing so sooner will prevent the eggs from stiffening. Delicious result though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
First time making meringue and all I can say is WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Tasty little bites of yumminess. Next time, I would like to add some peppermint extract to give it a little more flavor. Also, I think I would like to pipe these into swirls for a better presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 91-100 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States