Peppermint Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Turned out beautifully. If you're not having success with this recipe, beating the eggs thoroughly with a mixer so you cannot see any foam bubbles before you add the sugar is a must. Other wise your meringue will not hold it's form well, and may brown when cooking. Don't skip out the tartaric acid and salt, it stabilises the egg whites and helps it to keep it's shape. If you don't have tartaric acid, substitute an equal amount of lemon juice or white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Super easy and wonderful ! If you had problems check a couple of things. Before separating your eggs soak the whole egg in warm water so when you crack them the white will be at room temperature allowing it to whip up easily. When you add your sugar do it at soft peak and when you are at stiff peak rub a bit on your fingers . If you can still feel the sugar continue beating until there is no more sugar feel. My oven runs hot so I bake at 200 degrees for 2 hours. Happy Baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Tried this recipe based on reviews. I followed direction exactly and got far fewer cookies even though I made them small. Also the bake time of 90minutes is too much or recommend temperature to high. My oven seems true with other recipies. I was going to try another batch but my husband tasted them and said not to bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Using white vinegar instead of cream of tartar worked great. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
It was tasty, fun and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
These were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I had two egg whites to use up so I thought I’d make these for the holidays. I added a drop of red food coloring just to add a little festive color. They came out beautifully, and are very sweet, perfect for your candy or cookie platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by cmason87
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
My grandma's Golden Cookie recipe is a sugar cookie recipe that only uses the egg yolks. As I made a full batch, I had 5 egg whites (would have been six but one ended up on the counter...). So I adjusted this recipe for 5 whites but despaired a little when I saw another reviewer said it hadn't 'fluffed' when she had doubled it. But I kept at it with my hand mixer's whisk attachment, it probably took at least 20 minutes. I also added cinnamon extract as my husband does not like peppermint. I cook with gas, so I don't know if that made a difference, or if my little ziploc bag piped out meringues were too small (they're pretty small), but they did brown. Now that I've done it once, I won't be so afraid to try these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Amazing recipe. They cooked perfectly and taste really good. I added a little more than a tablespoon of vanilla to the egg whites before whipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red LoRusso

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Photo by z&burnttoast
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I had no cream of tartar so instead I used 1/4 teaspoon of lime juice. Whipped up perfectly in 5-10 minutes. I was worried at first because it was only bubbly, but a bit of patience got it to a very silky and fluffy consistency. I also added less than 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract. Following the tips in another meringue recipe, I piped them from a cut ziploc bag, on a greased and lightly floured foil sheet lining a baking tray. The meringues came off easily and were very tasty! What I like about this food is how easy they are to tweak- I topped mine with crushed oreos, hot cocoa powder, cinnamon, and shredded coconut (separately of course) instead of peppermints. Trying other candies, colors, and extracts next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States