Peppermint Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
80 minutes in my oven and they're perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
These turned out great! I had my oven set to 200 as suggested by a few others and after the first 45 minutes checked on them every 15 to 20 minutes until they were just right. I also let the meringues cool down in the oven after shutting it off. I found that I used maybe only 2/3s of the crushed candy cane in and top of the meringues. I've made three batches so far! In the first I added a drop of red food colouring but it didn't give enough colour for my liking. In the second batch I separated the batter in half and added a few drops of red food colouring to one and a few drops of green food colouring to the other. Perfect for Christmas! The last batch I swapped out the candy cane for 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract. I sprinkled half of the vanilla batch with the candy cane and they taste SO GOOD. Light, sweet and with such a great taste. These meringues are honestly so addictive. My husband, who isn't a fan of candy canes or anything minty, likes these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I make these cookies all the time! I add a few drops of peppermint extract to the mix and about 1/4th of a teaspoon of vanilla extract as well, it helps with the egg white flavor and tones down the sweetness just a bit. I only bake them for 75-80 minutes because at 90 they start getting brown around the bottom edges and they don't look as pretty. Keep in mind when making these that when you take them out of the oven they set up completely in a few minutes, even if they don't feel crisp right out of the oven. You'll know when they're done if they peel very easily off the aluminum foil, if they're still sticking to it and you need to tug them, either wait a few more minutes to set longer or pop them back into the oven for 5 more minutes. This recipe made about 30 half-dollar sized cookies. So if you need to make a lot (and I would! These are fantastic!) you should double, or even triple the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Its great. Not for me though. Very simple recipe. Awesome if you want to make something for a potluck or party. I'm sure it depends on your oven but 90min was too long for me. I left them in about 70 min Sweat pepperminty and light and airy and really great. I do recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This cookie is so refreshing! It's sweet and minty and just addictive. I followed the recipe exactly and made 3 batches. I found too like other people that 90 minutes was too long. The first batch I finally checked at 60 minutes and they were already browning, so I turned off the oven and let them sit for another 10 minutes or so before taking them out of the oven. The second batch went in and again I found them browning at around the 60 min mark, so I turned the oven off once more. The third batch I decided to turn the heat down to 220 and they seemed to brown a lot less and I didn't feel the need to turn the oven off until around the 75 minute mark. However brown they were, the cookies were all delicious so I'm using all of them in my cookie exchange tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Good recipe but instead of adding the salt I added cream of tartar so the egg whites would retain the fluffiness and hold up. I also turned the oven off after I put the cookies in and let them sit over night (I made them in the evening). They turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Dude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I have been making these since I was little. They were called OVERNIGHT MERINGUE COOKIES back then. After you preheat the oven, put cookies in and turn oven off. Leave in oven overnight and in morning you have perfect cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This was a good recipe. They were a hit at christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Follow Mary's recipe exactly. If you add extract, make sure to use only a few drops or your egg whites will go flat. This is delicious, fun, easy, and a light treat. They didn't make it to the dessert table on Christmas Eve, they were gone long before that! A huge hit I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I have been using this recipe for years. It is requested (and expected!) year after year at various Christmas parties! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States