Peppermint Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Doolittlenomnoms
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Oh wow was this recipe easy. The only problem I ran into was I didn't have the gelatin completely dissolved so when I added the hot sugar syrup mixture, there were some clumps of gelatin mixed in. Some of the clumps were still there in the finished product. Ooops. That was my fault. Otherwise YUM. I didnt add peppermint either. I just wanted plain ones. Thank you so much! I can't wait to try these with smores!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doolittlenomnoms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This was the first time ever making marshmallows. It was easy and delicious. All my friends loved them and were really surprised about them being homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soifua
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I only made these with vanilla (so no peppermint, at least not yet) and it's SOOOOO easy. When it says to have a hard boil make sure that the entire surface of the liquid is bubbling like crazy. I was a little apprehensive about pouring the whole hot mixture over the gelatin at once (I've only seen "stream in the syrup a little at a time..."), but it worked. Set your timer for 6 minutes and check the marshmallows in the mixture then, my marshmallows were done in 8 minutes. Let it set before you try it, otherwise it tastes like too much gelatin - trust me. Great recipe, especially since one of my boys have an egg allergy. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Easier and faster than I expected! 12 minutes may have been a little too long to beat the mix with my stand mixer's whisk - by the time I scooped it out it was pretty much too stiff to spread. Or, I might have let the sugar boil a little too long. Still delicious and I was able to smoosh it down into the pan. Just watch your times and use your judgement! I'd like to know when to mix in the cocoa powder for chocolate as pictured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweet Apron
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These are wonderful. Use a candy thermometer if you have one and cook until 235 -takes the guesswork out. I added peppermint oil and omitted the vanilla. We crushed candy canes and some leftover peppermint meringues to dust on top. These are HUGE-filled a 11x7 pan. After they are cut, I shook them in a big platic bag filled with the cornstarch/sugar/crushed candy canes. I'll be making another batch for Christmas Eve cocoa as I don't expect these to last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This recipe turned out perfect. I personally don't think it takes 12 min. to whip the mixture. I took them to work and everyone thought they were amazing. They go great with Swiss Miss Dark Chocolate Sensation. My hot chocolate taste like a liquid peppermint patty (Yummy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Very easy, and much tastier than store-bought marshmallows. We made them with vanilla flavoring only, since the hubs doesn't care for peppermint. Packaged them up with hot cocoa mix for gifts. Fun !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
These were very easy to make. I do agree with another reviewer that for MY taste there is a little too much peppermint extract in it. I think I would scale it back to 1-1 1/2t. Other than that, perfect! I used an 8x8 pan and cut it into 36 large chunks, but you can always make them smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Really good recipe! If you want to try something different instead of pepermint extract use coconut extract, and top it with coconut toasted before it sets. It turns really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by llissermae
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Love them! My first attempt at making marshmallows and it was a success! I didn't have any peppermint extract though so i used peppermint oil. And i only used 1/2 teaspoon of oil. Next time i might go for 1/4 tsp. though, they are a little strong for my taste. Love the recipe, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by llissermae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sparta, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States