Peppermint Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
These were so easy to make! I omitted the peppermint because I wanted just vanilla flavored marshmallows, and they were delicious! I don't have a candy thermometer, so I followed another reviewer's advice and let the mixture come to a hard boil before starting the timer. The motor of my poor mixer started to overheat about 6 minutes into the beating process, so I shut it off and crossed my fingers that the marshmallows would set--they did! I can't wait to make another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I also cut back on the peppermint and did half peppermint and half vanilla. Still very minty but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rgriffin09
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
These were fantastic! I used them for Homemade S'mores for a party, and I had a bunch left over! I replaced the peppermint extract with a little bit more vanilla, and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This recipe worked out great for me! I thought they had a lovely but not overpowering peppermint taste and were very easy to make. Definitely going to play around with this recipe to create new flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
TWO drops of peppermint extract would probably be correct.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
It was pretty quick and easy, I halved the mint, and used a candy thermometer as suggested and they turned out great! I am excited to try these with orange extract. I used kitchen scissors to cut them which was easier than my buttered knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
These came out great! I followed the recipe closely, the only exception using only 1tsp peppermint flavoring as others have suggested. They set up beautifully and looked (and tasted) like Williams Sonoma's gourmet marshmallows! They were consumed in a flash. My teens felt they could have been a little more minty - not for eating but for cocoa dunking. Maybe I will make a 'minty extreme' version for them. It does help to have the tools like a stand mixer and silicone spatula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I used the Martha Stewart recipe (which is essentially exactly the same just larger proportion sizes to fit 9X13 pan). I only used a teaspoon peppermint extract in the larger recipe...if you used 2 full tsp in this I'd think it would be overwhelmingly pepperminty and I really like peppermint. A couple of tips: cook the syrup to 238, which takes about 9 minutes after it comes to a boil, and use a VERY large pan for this because it will boil over. I used a much too small pan and had to switch it over. Also, although I'm certain it hit 238 during boil, and mixed it with my mixer on high for over 12 minutes and it got very fluffy, it never got to what I would consider "stiff" peaks, like what you'd consider for a meringue. I was worried it wouldn't work. But I put it in my 9X13 (silpat on the bottom helps immensely by the way) and left it overnight. The marshmallows were soft and perfect the next morning. I put crushed up candy canes (before I let them set) on top and kind of pressed them in, and they turned out very cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Loved this recipe - it was SO fun to make! The only thing I would change is the amount of peppermint extract to add. Following another reviewer's suggestion, I added only half as much (1 teaspoon) of peppermint extract and that was more than enough. If you're not a huge peppermint fan, I would add just 1/2 teaspoon of peppermint extract. Still a great recipe though. I added a few drops of red food coloring and swirled it in making a pretty pink ribbon of color throughout before pouring it into the prepared pan. Very nice result! I also dusted them with some powdered pink edible glitter dust which I found at a craft supply store (in the candy making section) once I had done the powdered sugar/cornstarch step at the end. The pink glitter "fairy dust" was my 3 year old granddaughter's job - she loved it! Put the marshmallows in a gallon bag (doing several separate batches, maybe 6-10 at a time) and add the glitter dust, shake to coat. Again, they were just beautiful! A great, easy Christmas treat, perfect with hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Very easy to follow this was my first time making marshmallows. After reading the previous reviews, I agree to maybe use a candy thermometer or at least to boil till it gets thick. I added essential oil to mine and it was too much peppermint. I will definitely make again and cannot wait to try in my cocoa tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States