Peppermint Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
These turned out just as I had hoped! I did as a reviewer has suggested and used candy thermometer and so it actually boiled for 2 minutes. Only had to beat for about 5 minutes then. The rest I did just as in recipe except I was out of peppermint so I just used vanilla. Will definitely use this recipe again! Fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I substituted the peppermint with homemade Blackberry Liqueur and they're delicious! Obviously a little messy to make. Can't wait to try in hot chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jasper, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Fun recipe to do with kids. I made these a year ago and the peppermint was too strong. This year I halved the peppermint amount and it was still a little too strong for just eating but were great in our hot cocoa. We tried to dress them up by sprinkling crushed candy canes on top. Overnight the candy kind of liquefied and oozed. Still tasted great but didn't look great so I don't recommend the crushed candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
These were so easy to make! I omitted the peppermint because I wanted just vanilla flavored marshmallows, and they were delicious! I don't have a candy thermometer, so I followed another reviewer's advice and let the mixture come to a hard boil before starting the timer. The motor of my poor mixer started to overheat about 6 minutes into the beating process, so I shut it off and crossed my fingers that the marshmallows would set--they did! I can't wait to make another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I also cut back on the peppermint and did half peppermint and half vanilla. Still very minty but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rgriffin09
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
These were fantastic! I used them for Homemade S'mores for a party, and I had a bunch left over! I replaced the peppermint extract with a little bit more vanilla, and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This recipe worked out great for me! I thought they had a lovely but not overpowering peppermint taste and were very easy to make. Definitely going to play around with this recipe to create new flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
TWO drops of peppermint extract would probably be correct.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
these were surprisingly easy and fun to make. my whole family loves them and I made this recipie about 4 times last christmas. I use a pizza cutter coated in non stick spray to cut them. so much easier than scissorsor knives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
These came out great! I followed the recipe closely, the only exception using only 1tsp peppermint flavoring as others have suggested. They set up beautifully and looked (and tasted) like Williams Sonoma's gourmet marshmallows! They were consumed in a flash. My teens felt they could have been a little more minty - not for eating but for cocoa dunking. Maybe I will make a 'minty extreme' version for them. It does help to have the tools like a stand mixer and silicone spatula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States