Peppermint Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Peppermint ice cream is one of my favorites. I used to look forward to Christmas time because the major manufacturers would make this. Now I can make it anytime and it is so delicious. The base tastes delicious on its own and I use it for other ice cream flavors, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Burtonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I was so disappointed with how this turned out, especially since peppermint ice cream is my favorite and I was looking forward to making it the most. To be fair to the original author, I followed the recipe to the tee - with one exception: I followed the advice of many others and replaced half of the vanilla extract with peppermint extract. It tasted bitter. :-/ Perhaps it would have been better with the vanilla as written. While cooking the mixture, I noticed tiny pieces of cooked egg showing up. I followed the recipe exactly, but ended up having to strain the whole mixture - and there was a ton of it in there. I was surprised this recipe didn't call for tempering like other ones do. Bummed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
good. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I don't know how I forgot to review this. But this was amazing Icecream!! Followed the recipe. It has become a tradition for the winter holidays in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATE571

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Walton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
One word: AMAZING! This ice cream is so good that I've already made it twice in one month! I used my Kitchenaid ice cream mixer and followed the recipe exactly. Thank you so much for sharing.. peppermint icecream will forever be served to my family! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Delicious. I made it just as specified using our cuisinart ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Perfect ice cream 5 stars really, really good ice cream!!! This is the second Christmas in a row I've made it and all of my relatives loved it!!! I'm sure your relatives will like it, too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is a wonderful ice cream recipe. It is very creamy and although it gets hard in the freezer, it somehow remains "scoopable" rather than turning into a rock that defies the scoop. I've made it during the summer as a refreshing dessert and I am making it now for a Christmas treat. Just omit the peppermint and you have a delicious french vanilla style ice cream. Did that this past Thanksgiving for a great accompaniment to the pies. When making the peppermint ice cream, I also split the flavorings between vanilla and peppermint as others have suggested. The easiest way to crush the peppermint is to put the candies in a baggie and hammer them. It takes seconds, they come out the perfect size, and you don't have the processor bowl to wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Don't sub mint extract for peppermint. Ewe. Did not work AT ALL. Made it with 2t vanilla & 2t peppermint and it was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
FABULOUS!! Thanks, Berneice!! Best freakin ice cream recipe I have ever met! EVER!! I now use this base for every ice cream custard I make. If I am doing peach ice cream, or coffee toffee ice cream, I back off the sugar a bit!! It is just remarkable. Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States