Peppermint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
love these cookies, great on a cookie tray for the holidays especially if topped with peppermint kisses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Good taste, I had some trouble with them falling apart though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Great cookies! I don't use shortening, so I used real butter! I also added chocolate chips. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
We made these cookies for Christmas packages this year (peppermint theme). They were perfect! Refrigerating and then slicing made for gorgeous, perfectly round cookies. Great for gifting! Everyone loved them. My toddler got a kick out of crushing the candy canes in a mortar and pestle for the cookies. Only change I'd make to the recipe is -- BUTTER, not shortening. Otherwise, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Love these cookies, my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I liked the peppermint blossom idea as well. I substituted 1/2 tsp peppermint extract for the crushed candies. I dropped balls of dough into a mini muffin pan, baked them for 8 minutes, and then pushed a Hershey candycane kiss (frozen so they don't melt so fast) into each one as soon as they came out of the oven. Really pretty and tasty, and something different since most of our other goodies are chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I LOVE this recipe! I added red food coloring to make the cookie pink. I used my cookie scoop on the refrigerated dough rather than rolling them and cutting as the recipe suggests. Once the cookies had cooled, I dipped the cookies in white almond bark (one half of each cookie) and crushed candy canes. FABULOUS - the smash hit of the cookie exchange!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Wisniewski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Loved these cookies! I used with candy cane kisses on top for a cookie exchange. Tips: Freeze the kisses before. Use Pam spray on sheets. Take out cookies when almost done, poke with thumb, insert kiss, and cook for 2 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
These are so yummy.. The crushed candy canes are perfect. They are even better when refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Part of my cooking up a storm for Christmas... I made a huge batch of these cookies for christmas. Made the dough and shaped in to balls on a cookie sheet, once frozen I transported to a ziplock for storage. Of course I cooked off just a few, to make sure they were good, they were more than good. Simply delicious. I followed the recipe exactly other than using butter in place of the Shortening (do not like shortening at all). To cook from frozen, simply place the frozen dough ball in the oven at 300 degrees for approx 25-30 minutes. I always bake cookies from frozen the results always look like a more professional cookie. This really is the perfect christmas recipe. Just the right about of mint crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States