Peppermint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
these were good but they turned out really flat so they did not look Appling the taste was yummy but not enough to try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Absolutely fantastic cookies! They are quick to make, use up the candy canes from the Christmas tree and taste great! I used 1/4 cup butter and 1/2 cup shortening, and I found the trick is to use parchment paper! You have to let them sit for a few minutes before transferring them to the cooling rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Tasted good. They were extremely flat and extremely soft. They even turned brown as they flattened- continuing to flatten even after I took them out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvberners

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blondie
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I baked these last night and like the other reviewer, I used Andes crushed peppermint baking chips instead of candy canes. Oh my goodness, these are amazing! Definitely one of the best sugar cookies I've ever had. It's the perfect combo of chewy with a little bit of crunch. They're buttery, pepperminty, sugary goodness! I did not add the extra peppermint on top, but that is because I added extra peppermint to the batter. I will absolutely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I'm giving this recipe a 4 rating because the results were *very* yummy, but I'll probably not make them again. Our local grocery store was giving away cherry candy canes after Christmas so that was the only substitution I made. The reason I won't make these again is because, as was noted by others, the candy cane melts while baking so this created a huge mess of my cookie sheets. Someone said they used parchment paper which maybe helps? However, I don't use parchment and can't afford to buy it for one recipe, no matter how yummy it turns out, so I guess this is one recipe we'll enjoy while it lasts but not repeat. One tip, though... if you're not using parchment do *not* let the cookies cool before removing from the sheet! The cookies come off easier if the candy cane is still hot and liquidy. All you have to do is press firmly and swipe quickly with the spatula and the cookies will come of with not too much trouble. Thanks for sharing! Sorry for the negativity because these cookies *are* very tasty! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I've made this recipe only once so far, and I made it as written. I found this to be just a VERY good, basic cookie recipe. Yes, they were very good with the crushed peppermint candies, but you could add pretty much anything to these cookies -- candy chips, raisins, dried cherries or dried cranberries or even just plain -- and they would be just as good. Yes, the crushed peppermint candies (I used starlight mints) DO melt when baking, but I lined my cookie sheet with parchment paper, which facilitated clean up as well as the removal of the cookies from the pan. (The "trick" to removing the cookies from the pan neatly is to allow them to cool for a minute first.) The biggest mess I had was with all the candy pieces on my countertop after sprinkling the crushed candy on the finished cookies. No problem. I just vacuumed them up as I went along. The recipe says to use three dozen pieces of candy, but, with the starlight mints at least, I found that to be WAY too many. After using the amount specified for the dough and for sprinkling on the baked cookies, I had quite a bit of crushed mint left over. (Hmmm. Maybe I could use it in my hot chocolate?) Also, although I didn't actually count, I don't think I got quite the three dozen cookies that the recipe claims. Oh, well. I can always increase the recipe. I WILL be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I didn't have any crisco so I used butter...maybe that was the issue. I thought they were only okay...had the same issues with sticking but not a big deal. I just didn't think they tasted that great. Has anyone else used butter. Mine were very thin also is that how they are supposed to be?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I've made this twice. The first time I made exactly as directed and I ruined half of them because they stuck to the cookie sheet so bad. The taste was great though and everyone at work requested I make them again. So, I did with some changes. First, I used 1/2 C butter flavored Crisco and 1/4 C salted butter instead of all Crisco. Second, I buttered the cookie sheets. Third, let the cookies cool on the cookie sheets on cooling racks for more like 5 minutes. Fourth, butter the spatula after every other cookie or so. I only ruined 2 cookies the second time. I rated this recipe based on my first attempt following the directions exactly. The taste was 5 star. The stickiness and difficulty brought the overall score to 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I doubled the recipe and used the Andes Peppermint Crunch. I used a small cookie scoop and got 9 dozen cookies. They came out great! Will definitely be making them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Woodstock, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is an absolutely no-fail recipe, with delicious flavor, a festive holiday look, and dough that is easy to handle. I followed the recipe to the letter and it turned out fabulously! I got 50 small cookies out of my batch. 10 minutes in the oven was perfect for that wonderful texture of slightly crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside. Use parchment paper to avoid sticking. Be sure to gently PRESS the candy into the cookie immediately after removing from oven. Also, I advise that you crush the peppermint candy to pieces that are about the size of MINI chocolate chips. Don't over-crush like I did -- powdered candy does not convey the desired effect! They look and taste wonderful...I'm giving these cookies away as gifts for Christmas this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States