Peppermint Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
The peppermint was delicious. It had a very smooth after-taste. The cake was not overwhelming. It would make a light after dinner dessert. I did not have cake flour so I substituted all-purpose flour and just used less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelic1ang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Okemos, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
While I haven't made this particular Chiffon cake, the recipe is exactly the same as mine for Maple Chiffon - Just sub mapline for the peppermint. This is a cake I have made for 30 years and it NEVER comes out dry! Perhaps the egg whites were over-beat and too stiff? Great Alteration to a classic! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
Mmm!! This cake is really good. I didn't have any cake flour so for each one cup of flour needed, I used one cup of regular flour, minus 2 tbsp. and then added 2 tbsp. of cornstarch. It worked fine! Also, I decided to use mint flavored frosting. I'm adding that recipe to Allrecipes... "Chlyha427's Mint Frosting." Check it out! It really made the cake great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This was absolutely delicious. Everyone wanted the recipe. Looks more complicated than it really is. Very easy to make. I frosted it with cool whip and put some holiday sprinkles on top. Rave reviews!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
very good, made for x-mas eve birthday cake, left out food coloring, bake a little longer than barely brown, top with glaze of peppermint, milk, butter, sugar, and crushed candy canes and melted drizzled chocolate, easy and tasty and light
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellabirthing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This is a lovely cake. I only used 1 tsp of peppermint because I was almost out and I wanted to frost with peppermint icing too. The frosting is really what made this cake excellent, thus 4 stars instead of 5. I used Mint Buttercream Frosting with Dark Chocolate Glaze from this site. That made it to die for! Without frosting it's a bit dry. But still very pleasant flavor and spongy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Pretty good. I didn't have a tube or bundt pan (packed away for moving) so I had to use a springform pan. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. Seemed a little dry. I wasn't sure what type of frosting to use, so I used the "Mint Buttercream Frosting with Dark Chocolate Glaze" (off this website). The combination seemed a little sweet for me but everyone else seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
i enjoyed the taste of the cake immensely. it was very fluffy, but i have to agree that it was a bit dry. I used the "vanilla glaze" from this site, adding in a tsp or so of peppermint extract to the glaze, and then topping off with crushed candy canes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Very dense and thick. Not the usual light and airy chiffon. The peppermint flavor was good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
this more like a sponge cake, it has great flavor, and I made a peppermint icing to go on it, next time I'll reduce the eggs and add vetable oil or butter to give more of a cake texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States