Peppermint Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
Mmm!! This cake is really good. I didn't have any cake flour so for each one cup of flour needed, I used one cup of regular flour, minus 2 tbsp. and then added 2 tbsp. of cornstarch. It worked fine! Also, I decided to use mint flavored frosting. I'm adding that recipe to Allrecipes... "Chlyha427's Mint Frosting." Check it out! It really made the cake great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This was absolutely delicious. Everyone wanted the recipe. Looks more complicated than it really is. Very easy to make. I frosted it with cool whip and put some holiday sprinkles on top. Rave reviews!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
very good, made for x-mas eve birthday cake, left out food coloring, bake a little longer than barely brown, top with glaze of peppermint, milk, butter, sugar, and crushed candy canes and melted drizzled chocolate, easy and tasty and light
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellabirthing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
this more like a sponge cake, it has great flavor, and I made a peppermint icing to go on it, next time I'll reduce the eggs and add vetable oil or butter to give more of a cake texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This is a lovely cake. I only used 1 tsp of peppermint because I was almost out and I wanted to frost with peppermint icing too. The frosting is really what made this cake excellent, thus 4 stars instead of 5. I used Mint Buttercream Frosting with Dark Chocolate Glaze from this site. That made it to die for! Without frosting it's a bit dry. But still very pleasant flavor and spongy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
While I haven't made this particular Chiffon cake, the recipe is exactly the same as mine for Maple Chiffon - Just sub mapline for the peppermint. This is a cake I have made for 30 years and it NEVER comes out dry! Perhaps the egg whites were over-beat and too stiff? Great Alteration to a classic! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
i enjoyed the taste of the cake immensely. it was very fluffy, but i have to agree that it was a bit dry. I used the "vanilla glaze" from this site, adding in a tsp or so of peppermint extract to the glaze, and then topping off with crushed candy canes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
The peppermint was delicious. It had a very smooth after-taste. The cake was not overwhelming. It would make a light after dinner dessert. I did not have cake flour so I substituted all-purpose flour and just used less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Waugh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Okemos, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I've never NEVER rated a recipe so low, but I really had great expectations for this one and it sorely disappointed. It was a heck of a lot of work for the end result. I made a glaze with powdered sugar, peppermint extract, and butter. That didn't even help. The cake, while pretty, was cardboard dry and really had so little peppermint flavor that I'm mad that I wasted my hard-to-find extract on it. Hardly anyone ate more than 2 bites. Bummer... it sounded so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
DRY, DRY DRY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States