Peppermint Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
The family loved this candy, and it looked festive on my holiday cookie trays. I added a layer of semi-sweet milk chocolate morsels on the bottom mixed with a few drops of mint extract. (1:1 ratio of semi-sweet chips to white chips)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Messy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
So many variations with different candies, nuts, fruit and types of chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I made it as other viewer suggested--melt semi sweet chocolate and pour it on the button of the pan first, chill for bit before pouring white chocolate/peppermint mixture on top of semi sweet chocolate and chill. It was very good:) I gave it as holiday treats to my neighbors and got good feedback~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starrynite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is just about the best (and fast) chocolate thingy I've ever made. I just grabbed the half bag of chocolate chips I had and another bag of white ch. chips. I followed another reviewers suggestion and used melted chocolate chips (and then stirred in some chopped almonds) as one layer and spread them in two tin foil pie pans and put those in the freezer while I melted the white chocolate in the micro. I then added some smashed peppermint candies, spread it on top of the dark chocolatre, which had set up and put it in the frig. 30 minutes later, it was ready. When it's hard, cover it with something before you give it a good bang on the counter......dish towel, foil, whatever......otherwise, some pieces may jump out and into your mouth. This is a wonderful year round recipe and the next time, I'll forget the peppermint and use chopped nuts or whatever. Only caution I would give is if you're not familiar with chocolate, just melt it on half power in the micro until they appear to be melting....then see if you can mix them. Don't overmelt. They should still be holding their shape when they're ready to stir and spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chapala, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Very easy. I substituted Chocolate Mint Wafers for the white chocolate ones...super yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cfrancis1293

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
made this with my kids and put in little boxes they decorated with Christmas stickers to give as presents this year... HUGE HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateroo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was pretty easy to make and was good. I followed others advice and strained the broken mints. I added the fine powder to the melted chocolates and put the larger pieces on top after it was spread in the pan. They look great but it's not my favorite tasting candy. But that's just a personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I followed the first review (Kitchen Kimberley) and put down a semi-sweet chocolate layer first, then the white chocolate peppermint layer. The offset spatula IS perfect for spreading -- a regular spatula just makes it messy. I whipped this up last-minute for a little get together and it came out perfectly. I did not add red coloring or crushed peppermint canes, it didn't need it. I love chocolate and peppermint! This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by focaccia9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
yummy and fun to make! I used white choc./almond from Walmart and it was good. As another user recommended I also put about a TBSP of peppermint flavoring into the melted chocolate for added taste which turned out good. I let it dry on wax paper outside (about 32degrees) for about 10minutes and I was able to break it up immediately then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States