Peppermint Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
These came out great and are easy to make. I cannot wait until Christmas comes so I can make them again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This brittle was okay. The peppermint started to "sweat" after about a day or so...Since this was my first shot at peppermint brittle, I'm not sure if that's normal or not. I just don't like sweaty food. LOL. The first day it was good though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NotoriousYBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I'm not a huge fan of white chocolate, but this was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Tons of compliments on this. I did semi-sweet on bottom, white choc on top. I waited for bottom layer to cool before adding the white on top but still the layers separated. So, for 2nd batch, I used a tooth pick to swirl the bottom & top layers a bit -- it looked nice & also helped the layers stay together. I recommend adding the dustier parts of the broken candy canes to the melted chocolatd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I loved this recipe cause I'm not a fan of dark chocolate, so the white chocolate works great for me. I did as others suggested, I melted the white chocolate in a double boiler which made the chocolate nice and smooth. I also did as another suggested and used a flour sifter to place the broken candy cane which made it easy to use the dust pieces to flavor the chocolate and the larger pieces that stayed in the sifter I used at the end to make it nice and pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zulisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
The family loved this candy, and it looked festive on my holiday cookie trays. I added a layer of semi-sweet milk chocolate morsels on the bottom mixed with a few drops of mint extract. (1:1 ratio of semi-sweet chips to white chips)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Messy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
So many variations with different candies, nuts, fruit and types of chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I made it as other viewer suggested--melt semi sweet chocolate and pour it on the button of the pan first, chill for bit before pouring white chocolate/peppermint mixture on top of semi sweet chocolate and chill. It was very good:) I gave it as holiday treats to my neighbors and got good feedback~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starrynite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is just about the best (and fast) chocolate thingy I've ever made. I just grabbed the half bag of chocolate chips I had and another bag of white ch. chips. I followed another reviewers suggestion and used melted chocolate chips (and then stirred in some chopped almonds) as one layer and spread them in two tin foil pie pans and put those in the freezer while I melted the white chocolate in the micro. I then added some smashed peppermint candies, spread it on top of the dark chocolatre, which had set up and put it in the frig. 30 minutes later, it was ready. When it's hard, cover it with something before you give it a good bang on the counter......dish towel, foil, whatever......otherwise, some pieces may jump out and into your mouth. This is a wonderful year round recipe and the next time, I'll forget the peppermint and use chopped nuts or whatever. Only caution I would give is if you're not familiar with chocolate, just melt it on half power in the micro until they appear to be melting....then see if you can mix them. Don't overmelt. They should still be holding their shape when they're ready to stir and spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chapala, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States