Peppermint Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I normally make peppermint patties and I've done a huge huge batch this year. Decided to make this recipe but make them thick, because I had leftover candy canes and almond bark. It worked out with the leftovers I had and set up quickly. Peppermint anything is great in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
It is so important to use a high quality chocolate for this to come out. "Nestle Chocolate" products do not work well with this recipe. Ghirardelli works best.. Bakers works well, though. After trial and error, I changed it up... dark on bottom, white on top. Mixed one teaspoon Organic Peppermint extract in dark after it melted. Topped dark with tiny pecan pieces and smaller chunks of candy canes. Strained the candy cane dust and mixed it in the white.. then topped the white with the larger chuncks of candy cane... rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This recipe was so simple and turned out delicious!! To break up the candy canes, I put them in a double plastic shopping bags, and stepped on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
After reading some of the great reviews, I decided to try it, I started with melting semi sweet chocolate, put in freezer, and then went and melted a package of the white chocolate. I poured on top of the chocolate, which was semi frozen, it turned out perfect because the white starting melting the chocolate, which made a really nice swirl mixed in with the peppermint candy, delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I got rave reviews on this one! Served it in a potluck last Saturday and everybody loved it! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
we could NOT stop eating! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
These came out great and are easy to make. I cannot wait until Christmas comes so I can make them again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This brittle was okay. The peppermint started to "sweat" after about a day or so...Since this was my first shot at peppermint brittle, I'm not sure if that's normal or not. I just don't like sweaty food. LOL. The first day it was good though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NotoriousYBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I'm not a huge fan of white chocolate, but this was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Tons of compliments on this. I did semi-sweet on bottom, white choc on top. I waited for bottom layer to cool before adding the white on top but still the layers separated. So, for 2nd batch, I used a tooth pick to swirl the bottom & top layers a bit -- it looked nice & also helped the layers stay together. I recommend adding the dustier parts of the broken candy canes to the melted chocolatd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States