Peppermint Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by a-bean
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I followed advice of others and added a bottom layer of dark chocolate, and sifted out the bigger pieces of candy for the top while mixing in the smaller pieces. I also added a bit of green food color to a small amount of the white chocolate and drizzled it over the top. I think this recipe was well balanced with the dark chocolate, and would have been overly sweet without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I loved this. It was so easy to make and give as gifts in tin cans with a bow on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Very good - a nice addition to a holiday cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
It was okay...but I think I used a wrong ingredient. I used white chips (they didn't say white chocolate chips), so it may have been better if I used a different chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Easy & fun to make. Really yummy too. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Easiest candy ever! I used a combo of white chocolate & almond bark. I took the advice of other reviewers & used the bigger pieces on top & mixed the "dust" into the melted white chocolate. I'd like to try it with a semi-sweet layer as others did. Makes a very nice gift any day of the year but especially at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This turned out wonderful. First of all don't microwave your chocolate. Melt the chocolate in a double broiler. It turns out better this way and easier to spread. I crushed my candycanes in a chopper. I used Bakers white chocolate and about 10 regular candy canes. I put in 1/8 peppermint extract into the chocolate mixture. I saved a little less than half of the crushed candy canes and topped it off on top of the spread chocolate. This candy reminds me of Hershey's Candy Cane kisses and is the closest I can come to my craving of them. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Fischer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I...I think I love you, and the reviewer who recommended the extra layer of dark chocolate! I had to promise people I would start making this every Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I took the advice of other users and used the small pieces in the chocolate. It turned out to be hit on all my candy trays I give for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Very pretty, but not a whole lot of flavor. I tried to add some peppermint extract but the white chocolate turned to a weird texture, almost like a curdle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States