Peppermint Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I have made this for years. I use wintergreen peppermints, but any type will work. I also use half almond bark and half white chocolate, this helps make the "brittle" brittle, it will break in large nice peices without all the tiny breaks, it will also hold up to heat better, it will not melt as soon as you touch it. You can add food coloring, layer other flavors for chocolate and even add sprinkles if your heart desires.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TXUKGal
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I had so much fun with this recipe. I did a couple of different varieties and everyone loved them! I think this would be really festive if the white chocolate had red and/or green food colouring added. The candy canes that I find in the UK aren't as strong tasting as the ones I could get in the US. I think I would add a tiny bit of peppermint flavouring just to pump up the flavour some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I've made this for years now. You can switch out your type of chocolate and type of hard candy for other flavor combos. The best tip you'll ever get about this kind of candy is: NEVER let water near your chocolate :) Even 1 drop--even 1 drop of food coloring--can and will ruin your chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Pretty good! After crunching up the candy canes, there's a fine powder left in the bag. I dumped that into the melted almond bark. It added a nice minty undertone to the whole piece of candy. I love how festive it looks, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Sawyer Munter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I wasn't crazy about it but everyone else was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Added layer of semi-sweet chocolate like many others. It rocked we have made it many many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBASHEY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I made this recipe for christmas and it was excellent! I used Merkans white cholocate and I think that made it creamer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess015

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
super easy and way too delcious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Spirit River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I received good feedback on this treat but I thought it wasn't that great. I grew up making my peppermint brittle with a few drops of mint extract but couldn't find it in this country. If you can get your hands on that then put some drops in to give it a boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWELKNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Fantastic, simple recipes. My nieces enjoyed breaking up the candy canes and the brittle. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States