Peppermint Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2000
great Christmas cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2000
An excellent Christmas treat. The amount of peppermint candy seems excessive but when baked the flavor mellows. A must try for peppermint lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2000
My children love peppermint but were not crazy about this recipe. It would help to include the approximate amount of candy canes that would equal the measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
I did not like this recipe at all. The dough was extremely sticky and hard to work with. The directions said to bake until firm, but after the time specified it collapsed when I poked it, so I kept it in, and then it got hard on top. Even then, the dough was still sticky and dense, and greasy from having to grease the pan. I was barely able to get it out of the pan at all, let alone in nicely sliced bars. It was a terrible mess and I'll never try that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Osceola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
I totally agree with BARB72. This recipe sounded really great and looked good, but was too pepper-minty. After I cooked it, the dough was hard on the edges and mushy in the middle. Also very greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
MY DAUGHTER LIKES THEM AND THEY ARE FUN FOR HER TO MAKE, I THINK THEY ARE A LITTLE BIT TOO BRITTLE AND DRY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This is a new induction into my recipes for Christmas, it's great! Read some of the other reviews and cut the amount of candy in half, it's terrific and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I absolutely love these!! Mine don't ever turn out bad, like others have stated and I have made them several times. I do however omit the chopped candy canes. I just use the peppermint flavoring in the dough, sometimes sprinkle the chopped candy canes on top of the chocolate. It's never been too sticky to work with like others have said. I just flour my hands and spread it, its not difficult at all. GREAT CHRISTMAS COOKIE RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
A must have for our Christmas trays from now on, these are pretty as well as delicious and simple to prepare. The only thing I would change is to leave the crushed canes out of the dough, and just sprinkle some on top of the chocolate. I did not have any trouble with sticky dough because here's what I did: I wet my hands down before pressing the dough into the pan, and when it was all nice and even in the pan I dabbed up any excess water up with a paper towel so it wouldn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Supurb! To tame the stickiness, flour your hands real good and mush the dough in the pan. Not to worry, no one will see the flour after baking and the chocolate has melted. These are amazing. My boss just went to 7th heaven after having one. Thank you for this wonderful new treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States