Peppermint Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I thought these were really pretty good but they didn't do well at the two parties I took them to last year. I'll keep making them for my house though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I'm not a big candy cane fan, but this looked like a nice, festive recipe so I tried it. I decided to try it out before the holidays because of the mixed reviews I saw. I had absolutely no problem with the recipe at all. I used margarine, not butter, and I left out the food coloring and the crushed candy canes in the batter. I didn't find the batter greasy, I didn't feel the need to flour my hands, and when I cut into the bars, they were fine (I waited about 90 minutes after taking the pan out of the oven). The only thing I would recommend is using a little more chocolate -- my icing was a bit sparse in places. I scraped most of the crushed candy canes off the top before tasting a piece, and I thought it was quite good. I'm taking them to work tomorrow to make my colleagues be guinea pigs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
very good, very rich and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
We added 10 drops of food coloring, and it made them nice and red. And, I floured my hands, too, to smooth the dough down, and it helped. We also used a whole bag of chocolate chips instead of just the 1 cup on top, which made them creamy! They taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I'm usually a very good baker, so I really don't believe it was something I did, but these cookies were greasy. The taste was ok though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
These bars were nothing like I expected. Not only were they very thin , but they became hard as a rock the next day. I won't attempt these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Easy to make. Very festive & colorful. Try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I don't know what I did wrong. I followed the directions completely and the next morning I tried to cut these into bars and it was as hard as a rock. My son joked that we could use them for Christmas tree ornaments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
THIS WAS AMAAAZING!!!!!!! so delicious! we added a little less butter, and left the crushed peppermint out of the batter, but still put it on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
These were very good and easy to make. I will omit the candy on top as it's too sticky. Husband loved 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States