Peppermint Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I absolutely love these!! Mine don't ever turn out bad, like others have stated and I have made them several times. I do however omit the chopped candy canes. I just use the peppermint flavoring in the dough, sometimes sprinkle the chopped candy canes on top of the chocolate. It's never been too sticky to work with like others have said. I just flour my hands and spread it, its not difficult at all. GREAT CHRISTMAS COOKIE RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Supurb! To tame the stickiness, flour your hands real good and mush the dough in the pan. Not to worry, no one will see the flour after baking and the chocolate has melted. These are amazing. My boss just went to 7th heaven after having one. Thank you for this wonderful new treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2000
An excellent Christmas treat. The amount of peppermint candy seems excessive but when baked the flavor mellows. A must try for peppermint lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This is a new induction into my recipes for Christmas, it's great! Read some of the other reviews and cut the amount of candy in half, it's terrific and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
A must have for our Christmas trays from now on, these are pretty as well as delicious and simple to prepare. The only thing I would change is to leave the crushed canes out of the dough, and just sprinkle some on top of the chocolate. I did not have any trouble with sticky dough because here's what I did: I wet my hands down before pressing the dough into the pan, and when it was all nice and even in the pan I dabbed up any excess water up with a paper towel so it wouldn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
These are so good! To keep my hands from getting dough all over them, I used waxed paper to flatten the dough into the pan. This made it so much easier! The only problem I had with these bars was getting them out of the pan. I let them cool completely by putting them in the fridge, but for some reason, they did not want to come out of the pan. I will use a different pan next time. Definately a keeper though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saratoga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
These were very good. The only change I would make is cutting down the extra crushed peppermint on the top. But overall a great dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
These are excellent and look beautiful on a tray of cookies! If putting these on a tray try putting them in small bowl or tupperware in the center of the tray---keep them covered with plastic wrap or the tupperware lid until ready to serve so the peppermint aroma doesn't flavor the other cookies. Cut fairly small pieces (a bit or two) as these are very buttery and rich. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I ended up using white chocolate instead of semisweet chocolate chips, which came out quite nicely. These were universally agreed to be the best of the several kinds of cookies I brought into work this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I loved these!!! They are so pretty and taste heavenly! I put 1/2 of the crushed candy cane into the batter. I am a peppermint lover and will make these again and again! They are my favorite thing I made this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States