Peppermint Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I wait all year for peppermint bark. It is my favorite candy. This recipe turned out fantastic. I lined and 8x8 pan with glad press and seal wrap, and it was really easy to remove the candy. I turned the pan over and pealed away the wrap. I thought the 8x8 made the candy a little too thick so I will probably use a larger pan next time. I also had to use mint extract not peppermint because that is what I had. I just added a little extra to the white chocolate and it was perfect. I used 12 candy canes instead of the peppermint candies. I also turned the candy over and broke it up from underneath. This worked great. Loved this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginColorado
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is really good and really easy. It is, of course, dependent on the quality of chocolate you use. I took some reviewers' advice and microwaved my chocolate. I very much enjoyed smashing the peppermints - it was therapeutic :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginColorado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sedalia, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Okay, so let me tell you what NOT to do... Leave it to me to mess up such a simple recipe! First of all, I decided from the get-go to double the recipe since I'm making this for several neighbors. This was mistake #1. When working with something like chocolate (and especially white chocolate) that hardens quickly after it's melted, it's best to work quickly and in small batches to decrease room for error. I did use the microwave to melt both chocolates and that ended up being fine. However, when I started pouring and spreading the chocolate is when the problems began. Do NOT use the Reynold's foil sheets side by side to line the baking sheet. As soon as I started spreading the first layer the foil sheets were sliding all over the place. Next time I will probably lightly oil the baking sheet (a much smaller one for a batch half the size, mind you. Next, do NOT try to get all sophisticated & buy the Andes peppermint baking chips. They are not the same as regular peppermints! They look like imitation bacon bits (rather than bakin' bits - ha!). To make matters worse, they are expensive! Stick with the cheap, festive candy canes or peppermints (which can be found in the bottom of Granny's purse, next to the butterscotch rounds). Lastly, of course I didn't wait long enough and got the muddy not-so-pretty marbled effect. At this point I gave up and dumped the rest of the peppermint baking chips on top because clearly, the only person stuck with this bark will be Santa on Xmas Eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Using wombat's suggestions, this turned out great! I used a shallow and small cookie sheet, lined it with tin foil, and froze it in between chocolate layers. I added peppermint extract to both the milk and white chocolate, and layered 11 crushed candy canes on each layer. I also used 24 oz of milk chocolate and 12 ounces of white. Looks great and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
The taste was very good. But there needs to be a changed because if you make it as stated, the bottom chocolate layer and top white chocolate layer when you try to break it into pieces. The only thing I can think of is to not refrigerate the first layer before putting the second layer on. I will try another small batch to see if this helps. Also, I found that I needed to make more white chocolate than indicated to fully cover the dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Geiger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Not too impressed. The white chocolate is not too good if you don't like white chocolate. Be better to add 1 tsp peppermint extract to take away the pasty flavor of the white chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This recipe was great!! I did use chocolate chips and white chocolate chip and candy canes and it was fine. It was kinda thick so maybe a bigger pan but other than that great and supper easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This turned out delicious! For the chocolate, I did half Baker's semi-sweet and half Baker's German's sweet chocolate. I didn't put the candy pieces between the layers, only because I forgot to. I used the mini candy canes and crushed them up in my food processor. I took the fine candy pieces/powder and melted that in my chocolates. This will now be my go to recipe for Peppermint Bark. Thank you for sharing, Andrea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Merrels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Delicious! Perfect for gifting and people are always impressed. I only put the candy on top instead of in the middle to make sure it wouldn't separate the layers. This is as good as Wm. Sonoma's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Bell
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I made this for hostess gifts and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States