Peppermint Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is my favorite PEPPERMINT BARK. Last time I made it, though, I should have crushed the peppermint for effectively. My family asked that I pulverize the peppermint, and this is what I plan to do. Everyone has his/her own expectations for peppermint bark, though. It is difficult to fail IF you use the finest of ingredients. Peppermint bark is only as good as the chocolate you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn Hague
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I had leftover candy canes from Christmas, so I used about 6 candy canes that I crushed up into a powder because my father can't chew through candy canes much anymore(though they are a bit harder to crush so make sure you have a clean counter top in case the bag gets holes). Be careful about breaking the bark because the chocolate is super cold, and you might accidentally get your fingers caught in the force and hurt yourself. Simple other than that. Also, make sure if you are using oil in this to let the layers set otherwise the white will start to melt the bottom layer and you won't get a nice white top. Keep the chocolates refrigerated when not being eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smhayley

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
so easy to make. addicting to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This is a excellent recipe and my first time making bark. I did use candy canes instead of rounds since I had extras in the house. At my husbands request I added about 1/3 tsp peppermint extract to each layer the second time I made it. Yum. Thank you for the great and flexible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockledge, Florida, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WIFE2SP
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I thought this recipe was great, and people loved it! I followed it the first time to a 'T', and it came out wonderfully! No separated layers or overpowering peppermint flavor. I agree the key is to use the higher-quality chocolates, such as Ghirardelli, which I used for both the semisweet and white. Also be sure to stir often when melting, making sure not to overheat the chocolate, and take it right off the heat as soon as it's melted. I used candy canes, too. My only complaint would be that after using the white chocolate as the top layer, It was virtually impossible to spread it evenly, and I ended up with dark and white swirls. It still looked pretty and it tasted fantastic. I'm trying something a little different with a second batch now, whereas I sprinkled crushed candy canes on the parchment paper first, poured the white chocolate over them for the bottom layer, and then drizzled the melted semisweet chocolate on top, finishing with more crushed candy canes. I think either way it will be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I followed the suggestions of others and just did this with Ghiradelli chocolate and white chips. Adding half the extract to the white chocolate made it seem to clump and lose it's smoothness, so I would just put it in with the milk chocolate next time. I didn't have any trouble with the two layers coming apart and I left the milk chocolate in the fridge for a couple of days. My hard earned advice is DON'T add milk to the white chocolate! I ended with a clumped, nasty mess and had to start that layer over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I've made this three years in a row and it's always a huge hit. I've made a few tweeks that seem to make it easier. Instead of melting the chocolate on the stove, I do so in the microwave stopping every 20-30 seconds to stir it. I've also found that a super quick way of crushing the candies is tossing them in a food processor. I've only been able to find pre-crushed candies once, so the food processor speeds things up a bit. Instead of using wax paper I use the paper cupcake cups so the pieces are even and in "personal" sizes. It works great for packaging them up and mailing them too! Overall, a good recipe that I plan on using for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I wait all year for peppermint bark. It is my favorite candy. This recipe turned out fantastic. I lined and 8x8 pan with glad press and seal wrap, and it was really easy to remove the candy. I turned the pan over and pealed away the wrap. I thought the 8x8 made the candy a little too thick so I will probably use a larger pan next time. I also had to use mint extract not peppermint because that is what I had. I just added a little extra to the white chocolate and it was perfect. I used 12 candy canes instead of the peppermint candies. I also turned the candy over and broke it up from underneath. This worked great. Loved this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginColorado
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is really good and really easy. It is, of course, dependent on the quality of chocolate you use. I took some reviewers' advice and microwaved my chocolate. I very much enjoyed smashing the peppermints - it was therapeutic :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginColorado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sedalia, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Okay, so let me tell you what NOT to do... Leave it to me to mess up such a simple recipe! First of all, I decided from the get-go to double the recipe since I'm making this for several neighbors. This was mistake #1. When working with something like chocolate (and especially white chocolate) that hardens quickly after it's melted, it's best to work quickly and in small batches to decrease room for error. I did use the microwave to melt both chocolates and that ended up being fine. However, when I started pouring and spreading the chocolate is when the problems began. Do NOT use the Reynold's foil sheets side by side to line the baking sheet. As soon as I started spreading the first layer the foil sheets were sliding all over the place. Next time I will probably lightly oil the baking sheet (a much smaller one for a batch half the size, mind you. Next, do NOT try to get all sophisticated & buy the Andes peppermint baking chips. They are not the same as regular peppermints! They look like imitation bacon bits (rather than bakin' bits - ha!). To make matters worse, they are expensive! Stick with the cheap, festive candy canes or peppermints (which can be found in the bottom of Granny's purse, next to the butterscotch rounds). Lastly, of course I didn't wait long enough and got the muddy not-so-pretty marbled effect. At this point I gave up and dumped the rest of the peppermint baking chips on top because clearly, the only person stuck with this bark will be Santa on Xmas Eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Make-it-Yours Sweet and Salty Bark

See how to make bark candy topped with sweet and salty snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States