Peppermint Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This recipe turned out great! I DID NOT use any oil. I melted the chocolate on the stovetop and added the peppermint extract as written. After putting the first chocolate layer down, I refrigerated it for 5 minutes. Then I added a very thin layer of crushed candy cane. I mixed the rest of the crushed candy canes in with the melted white chocolate then added it on top of the milk chocolate layer. If you're careful, you can avoid blending the chocolate layers together. I froze the peppermint bark. To break apart, I turned the bark upsidedown and covered with wax paper then used a hammer. It worked great! Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Aria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
We loved this !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jada1979

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I made this exactly as written. It was during the holiday season, and naturally I gave it to neighbors and friends. Everyone RAVED about it. They had assumed I'd bought it, but when they found out I made it they were floored. It's not that hard. :) It's really fun and impresses friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Need to NOT let bottom layer cool before adding top layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Perfect! everyone loved them and raved over them.. Beautiful Christmas gifts. I think my Mother in law ate all of it before Christmas, so it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Reeves Greenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
We made this to put in our goodies gift bags for friends for Xmas. We did use foil pans for easy clean up, but realized that the foil doesn't let the choco get cold enough to really harden. So after it set up we took it out and chilled it in a plastic container with a lid. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
AMAZING peppermint bark recipe! :) Instead of crushed candy canes or mints I used Andes Peppermint Crunch Baking Chips which worked just as well, but gave the bark an overall softer texture since they're not hard candy. I also only put a 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla in the semi-sweet layer, and none in the white chocolate layer. I added the chips in between the two layers, and made sure to gently pat them down into the chocolate. I put the bark in the freezer between layers and I had no problem with the layers separating. They taste so good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I was distracted while making this, and messed the whole thing up, and it came out perfectly! I failed to grease my glass dish and didn't line it with wax paper, I put the white chocolate layer on the bottom and forgot the mint extract, so I put 1/2 t. in the top dark chocolate layer. It came out of the pan just fine after chilling in the fridge for an hour. I used a 12 oz. bag of both white chocolate chips and semisweet chocolate chips, so I used an 8.5x11 inch pan. I also had a box of candy canes from last year, which I wanted to use up and that's why I chose this recipe. About 10 canes crushed covered the top nicely. This is really yummy, and very simple to make. This is definitely a repeat for Christmases to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Loved this! Used a 12 oz bag of dark chocolate for bottom, left out oil and peppermint, then used a 12 oz bag of white chips for the top (no oil again), didnt let the bottom layer cool too much before adding the second. Next time i will a double batch it went very quick!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Made this recently and everyone loved it! Very easy. No modifications needed. I left mine in the fridge overnight and chopped it up the next morning. It cracked perfectly with no separation between the layers. Also, I used the microwave to melt the chocolate with no problems. This will be one of my go-to holiday candy recipes from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavannahDare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States