Peppermint Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Need to NOT let bottom layer cool before adding top layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Perfect! everyone loved them and raved over them.. Beautiful Christmas gifts. I think my Mother in law ate all of it before Christmas, so it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
We made this to put in our goodies gift bags for friends for Xmas. We did use foil pans for easy clean up, but realized that the foil doesn't let the choco get cold enough to really harden. So after it set up we took it out and chilled it in a plastic container with a lid. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
AMAZING peppermint bark recipe! :) Instead of crushed candy canes or mints I used Andes Peppermint Crunch Baking Chips which worked just as well, but gave the bark an overall softer texture since they're not hard candy. I also only put a 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla in the semi-sweet layer, and none in the white chocolate layer. I added the chips in between the two layers, and made sure to gently pat them down into the chocolate. I put the bark in the freezer between layers and I had no problem with the layers separating. They taste so good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I was distracted while making this, and messed the whole thing up, and it came out perfectly! I failed to grease my glass dish and didn't line it with wax paper, I put the white chocolate layer on the bottom and forgot the mint extract, so I put 1/2 t. in the top dark chocolate layer. It came out of the pan just fine after chilling in the fridge for an hour. I used a 12 oz. bag of both white chocolate chips and semisweet chocolate chips, so I used an 8.5x11 inch pan. I also had a box of candy canes from last year, which I wanted to use up and that's why I chose this recipe. About 10 canes crushed covered the top nicely. This is really yummy, and very simple to make. This is definitely a repeat for Christmases to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Loved this! Used a 12 oz bag of dark chocolate for bottom, left out oil and peppermint, then used a 12 oz bag of white chips for the top (no oil again), didnt let the bottom layer cool too much before adding the second. Next time i will a double batch it went very quick!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Made this recently and everyone loved it! Very easy. No modifications needed. I left mine in the fridge overnight and chopped it up the next morning. It cracked perfectly with no separation between the layers. Also, I used the microwave to melt the chocolate with no problems. This will be one of my go-to holiday candy recipes from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavannahDare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by starspark23
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I changed things a little bit based on other reviews. I added the peppermint oil only to the white chocolate. Instead of a 9x9 pan, I used a cookie sheet that I had lined with foil. Because it's Christmas time, I used candy canes (8 total) and stirred about 3/4 of the crushed pieces into the melted white chocolate. After spreading over the dark chocolate layer, a sprinkled the remaining candy to the top, and gentle pressed in. It came out just beautifully, and looks very festive. It also tastes wonderful. Cool mint and creamy chocolate. Perfect pairing. I plan on doing this again next year and giving as a gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
My 6 year old granddaughter discovered Peppermint Bark this year. She and I used this recipe to make our own. After reading many of the reviews and suggestions I decided to leave out the peppermint extract, as my granddaughter doesn't like things too minty. I also left out the oil. We used a combination of peppermint candy and candy canes. We shifted the powdered bits out of the crushed peppermints and mixed most of it in with the semi-sweet chocolate. We made a double batch and spread it thin in two pans. We added a little bit of the crushed peppermint on top of the semi-sweet chocolate and patted it in a bit. We let it sit at room temperature, about an hour later we melted the white chocolate, added the rest of the peppermint powder and a little bit of the crushed peppermints and spread it on top of the chocolate layer. I think if I had been doing this myself I might have been able to keep it from getting muddy, but with a 6 year old spreading the first pan wound up white with a light cocoa color swirled through it, the second pan was surprisingly less so but still muddy. We put the rest of the crushed peppermint on top, patted it down a bit, and put one in the freezer and one in the fridge. The next morning we took them out, turned them upside down on a dish towel and broke them into pieces. We had only a tiny bit of the white separate from the chocolate. The extra thin layers helped with both the breaking and eating. Turned out delicious! Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
one thing that this recipe does not mention is that you can not just melt down white chocolate, you have to double boil whit chocolate very slowly and make sure no moister gets into the mix. Other wise this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Make-it-Yours Sweet and Salty Bark

See how to make bark candy topped with sweet and salty snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States