Peppered Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I love the savory sauce as an alternative to the "usual" sweet, BBQ style sauce with meatballs. I made it on the stove top (used frozen meatballs so I can't comment on that part of the recipe) and found it easy and quick. Definitely going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Easy, tasty and see notes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Good but not great - but I think that's a matter of personal taste and no reflection on the recipe at all. I followed the recipe - prebaking the meatballs and then adding to slow cooker. The only minor adjustment I made was to scale back slightly on the pepper, based on other reviews. I liked the sauce and thought it worked well with the meatballs, almost a stroganoff style. I served it over noodles and added a side salad. My husband definitely prefers a red sauce so this isn't something I will make often but I will make it now and then as a change from the typical meatballs and red sauce. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Darla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I only had a pound of ground beef so I had to adjust the meatballs to reflect that. I didn't really change much, I just cut back on the sour cream by a quarter cup. I sauteed half a thinly sliced onion and a half cup or so of sauteed baby bella mushrooms in a little butter before adding the sauce ingredients. This was good but not great. All three of the men in my family said that the pepper was overpowering. I think the meatballs need more seasoning (besides pepper) and the sauce could use a little somethin'-somethin'. Maybe worchestershire? I served this over buttered egg noodles and with steamed garlic green beans. I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This is a delicious main dish! I served it over angel hair pasta and got rave reviews from everyone eating dinner. I used only 1 tsp. of pepper in the meatballs and am glad I did. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. This was very easy to put together. Using my small cookie scoop, I got 57 small meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
These are wonderful meatballs! I've been making this recipe for years (thanks to having the Taste of Home book it's in) and my family loves them. The negative reviews really surprised me. I typically cut back on the pepper (personal preference) and omitted the cheese (didn't have any at the time) but other than that I follow the recipe. They always come out great and are eaten very quickly. To make them faster, I form them with a medium cookie scope (yields just over 2 dozen that way) and warm the sauce on the stove or in the microwave. I haven't served them over noodles yet but will try that soon. IMO, the sauce tastes great! I love the combination of cream of mushroom and sour cream. Overall, this recipe is a great alternative to the traditional BBQ/sweet-and-sour sauces most meatball recipes use. That's also a plus because most of my family hates sweet sauces with meat. This has become my go to recipe for meatballs. Quick, easy, and a great change from the status quo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Thanks for sharing your recipe. We have done an all appetizer meal for my family of 50 + the weekend after Christmas. I have made this recipe for the last 3 years ( of course I've had to triple it) and sad to say there are no leftoveres for me to bring home. I think it's great. The same old sweet and sour meatballs get a little old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
The sauce is pretty ghetto. No zing, no zest and not very complimentary of the meatballs. The meatballs aren't bad, I suggest adding a tad more pepper (otherwise the pepper is more of a novelty) but don't use the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
My family must have a weird pallet because we loved it, in fact we're making it for dinner again tonight. My in-laws loved it too. The pepper can be a bit much but we just add a little less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Oh dear, what can I say about these? Sour cream and mushroom soup just do not belong in meatballs, and the pepper was a bit much. Did not enjoy these at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States