Peppered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Delicious! The more bites I took, the more I liked it. I did it slightly differently, as I had fresh, not frozen green beans. Because I had fresh, there was no water to drain so I added the cider vinegar to the pan and just sauteed it a bit before serving. I also tossed in some minced roasted garlic I had on hand and used kosher salt instead of regular. The onions were carmelized and the peppers nice and crisp but a little soft. Perfect! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Excellent! I needed a veggie dish for dinner the other night and only had 1 can of French style green beans, a green bell pepper, and an onion to work with. I didn't have cider vinegar, so I used 2 tbsp balsamic vinaigrette dressing instead. I also used about 2 tsp of red pepper flakes instead of 1/8 tsp because I really like spicy dishes. I was honestly shocked at how good this was for something so simple... I will definitely make this again and try the red bell pepper this time (instead of green) as I'm sure that would add more color and a little more flavor. I also might try adding some minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashlea Beers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Fabulous recipe! Great flavor for otherwise bland green beans. Not too spicy, just right. My family loved it too! This is a beautiful side as well due to all the vibrant colors. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kdd
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
These have a sweet yet Tangy taste. They were a hit at my house. I didn't add the pepper flakes because I tried to do the recipe out of memory. The vinegar all absorbed into my beans so I didn't have to drain. I used frozen french green beans. They were great.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kdd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This was simple to make and a really good dish. It does look pretty with the red splashed in. I had to use balsalmic vinagarette, but I think it is probably about the same! Thank you~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie Chan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Dude, I HATE green beans, and this recipe is AMAZING. My ex used to ASK for it after one time making it for him. Five stars. Two thumbs up. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Really great veggie side with lots of taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Excellent! I used fresh green beans, steamed them first, set aside, then followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Tasty and tangy with a nice kick from the red pepper flakes! I used steam in bag green beans to save on time and sauteed the red pepper and onion in olive oil with a little garlic, mixed all the veggies together and then dressing it with the vinegar. Overall, a very colorful and flavorful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Yummy! Made a half recipe with some fresh-from-the-garden beans that I blanched for three minutes. Instead of pepper flakes (I'm a spice wimp) I used a roasted garlic pepper blend. The vinegar was subtle and delicious. Went great with my meatball sammies, thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States