Peppered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Delicious! The more bites I took, the more I liked it. I did it slightly differently, as I had fresh, not frozen green beans. Because I had fresh, there was no water to drain so I added the cider vinegar to the pan and just sauteed it a bit before serving. I also tossed in some minced roasted garlic I had on hand and used kosher salt instead of regular. The onions were carmelized and the peppers nice and crisp but a little soft. Perfect! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Because of the vinegar, I wasn't expecting to like this as much as I did. Frozen green beans didn't appeal to me (I used fresh haricots verts), nor did the crushed red pepper flakes, which I eliminated altogether. Still, these were attractive, delicious, "dressed up" green beans. The vinegar wasn't noticeable - it merely lends a fresh, clean taste to the green beans. Nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Excellent! I needed a veggie dish for dinner the other night and only had 1 can of French style green beans, a green bell pepper, and an onion to work with. I didn't have cider vinegar, so I used 2 tbsp balsamic vinaigrette dressing instead. I also used about 2 tsp of red pepper flakes instead of 1/8 tsp because I really like spicy dishes. I was honestly shocked at how good this was for something so simple... I will definitely make this again and try the red bell pepper this time (instead of green) as I'm sure that would add more color and a little more flavor. I also might try adding some minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashlea Beers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very nice! Another great thing to do with green beans (my fave). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
A nice and healthy side recipe but it misses something to be a real winner. I added a few tablespoons half and half and found it was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Tasty and tangy with a nice kick from the red pepper flakes! I used steam in bag green beans to save on time and sauteed the red pepper and onion in olive oil with a little garlic, mixed all the veggies together and then dressing it with the vinegar. Overall, a very colorful and flavorful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
really good for something with so few ingredients... would like to try with fresh green beans, and maybe add some garlic... didnt have cider vinegar so used balsamic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Yummy! Made a half recipe with some fresh-from-the-garden beans that I blanched for three minutes. Instead of pepper flakes (I'm a spice wimp) I used a roasted garlic pepper blend. The vinegar was subtle and delicious. Went great with my meatball sammies, thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Really good and so pretty! I will make again but will take out the crushed peppers since it was a bit too spicy for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
My green beans were too mushy but overall this dish tasted great. I added thyme and sage as well as the salt and pepper. Good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States