Peppered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Excellent! I needed a veggie dish for dinner the other night and only had 1 can of French style green beans, a green bell pepper, and an onion to work with. I didn't have cider vinegar, so I used 2 tbsp balsamic vinaigrette dressing instead. I also used about 2 tsp of red pepper flakes instead of 1/8 tsp because I really like spicy dishes. I was honestly shocked at how good this was for something so simple... I will definitely make this again and try the red bell pepper this time (instead of green) as I'm sure that would add more color and a little more flavor. I also might try adding some minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashlea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Nice and tangy! A simple and delicious side dish, and something different to do with green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Fabulous recipe! Great flavor for otherwise bland green beans. Not too spicy, just right. My family loved it too! This is a beautiful side as well due to all the vibrant colors. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Delicious! The more bites I took, the more I liked it. I did it slightly differently, as I had fresh, not frozen green beans. Because I had fresh, there was no water to drain so I added the cider vinegar to the pan and just sauteed it a bit before serving. I also tossed in some minced roasted garlic I had on hand and used kosher salt instead of regular. The onions were carmelized and the peppers nice and crisp but a little soft. Perfect! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
A nice and healthy side recipe but it misses something to be a real winner. I added a few tablespoons half and half and found it was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very nice! Another great thing to do with green beans (my fave). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I enjoyed these, but would like them even more made with fresh beans. I skipped the onions, due to family preferences. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
really good for something with so few ingredients... would like to try with fresh green beans, and maybe add some garlic... didnt have cider vinegar so used balsamic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
These were OK...the cider vinegar was not to my taste, but I liked the sauteed peppers and onions with the green beans and I added garlic too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kdd
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
These have a sweet yet Tangy taste. They were a hit at my house. I didn't add the pepper flakes because I tried to do the recipe out of memory. The vinegar all absorbed into my beans so I didn't have to drain. I used frozen french green beans. They were great.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kdd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States