Peppered Bacon and Tomato Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I just made this the other day when I was looking for new ways to serve pasta. I am not surprised to find it featured in the daily recipe emailing. I used lower sodium bacon (the only thing we ever have), three fresh tomatoes and a small yellow onion (again because this is what I had on hand). I omitted the added salt and poured off the extra grease and added a bit of extra pepper. As I found the sauce a bit dry for our tastes, I did about 1/4 cup of no-sodium chicken broth and simmered. I added the bacon, parmesan cheese and some parsley to the pan just before serving and sprinkled a handful of crumbled fresh mozzarella on top on the plates. Very tasty and well received by my husband, college age daughter and her friend. I gave it five stars because, although I did not follow the recipe as written, this is an excellent "idea" recipe to enjoy and be creative. I will make this again. Next time, I am thinking I might try the sauce with the cream mentioned by another reviewer, instead of the chicken broth. I am thinking that another time I might vary by adding grilled chicken pieces. Thank you for the versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
If I could give this 10 Stars, I would! My kids who don't care for tomatoes, absolutely loved this recipe! My husband said it was restaurant quality....music to a cooks ears!! Per other reviews, I doubled the tomatoes(I used diced tomatoes seasoned with basil, garlic & oregano) added a 14 oz can of chicken broth and added 1 cup of 1/2 & 1/2. I wanted to serve this as a main dish, so I diced and sauteed 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I set aside and sauteed yellow onion, diced red bell pepper and garlic in a portion of the bacon grease. I added the tomatoes & chicken broth, and simmered for 10 minutes, then added the 1/2 & 1/2 and 12 oz angel hair pasta. I served topped with bacon, chicken and fresh grated parmesan cheese. This is recipe is a keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
this was very delicious and i find myself making it often -- here is a piece of advice.. It is also wonderful cold - i made it and took it to my family reunion this summer and before it had time to heat up in the sterno pan it was GONE. I got some before it was gone and it was slightlt cold and it was DELICIOUS - so try it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harpursville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Pretty tasty, but I find that it works best to double all the ingredients, except the pasta -- use about 3/4 lb. of linguine. Also leave out the salt -- the bacon makes it salty enough. Use just a little of the bacon drippings to saute the onion and garlic. Finally, toss in the bacon and cheese just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Good recipe, with some changes. I prefer using yellow onion to the green, and chop up an entire cup. Also use 1 cup chopped fresh basil. It is a bit light on the tomatoes, but instead of adding more, try whisking in 1/2 cup heavy cream for a deliciously smooth Parma Rosa type of sauce. I don't feel this recipe needs any salt at all. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This was delicious, although I only gave it 4 stars due to the fact that the way the recipe is written, you really don't end up with ANY sauce. I had to double up on the sauce ingredients (with lots of extra garlic) and I even cut back on the pasta. Will definitely make again though. Oh I also used only a small amount of the bacon drippings, NO WAY you need all of that to saute. And I was also a little upset as there is no directions on WHAT TO DO WITH THE BACON. Is it supposed to be incorporated in the pasta/sauce or sprinkled on top with the cheese? Well anways......mine turned out delish....hope yours does too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is a delicious, quick and easy recipe that won my boyfriend's heart over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I doubled the sauce as other reviewers did, used a sweet onion instead of green onion, upped the garlic. Awesome dish. Hit with everyone. Even my littlest boy had seconds! EDITED: I make this once a month now as a quick meal. It's become one of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
We loved this. Since the first time, I have used two (14.5 oz)cans of fire roasted diced tomatoes and 3/4 lb of peppered bacon. I use angel hair pasta because we prefer it. I doubled the other ingredients except for the salt, pepper and parmesan cheese. Love having lots of sauce with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Glenwood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I used regular bacon, so I added extra black pepper. Also, I drained most of the bacon grease, only leaving a film of it in the pan to cook the onion and garlic (this cut the greasiness others mentioned). Just before serving I added a couple tablespoons of water just to make the dish less dry. More than 4 servings for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States