Peppered Bacon and Tomato Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was sooo yummy! I used 3 large bulbs of garlic, and a 28oz can of diced tomatoes and lots of fresh basil, cause i had it. There was lots of sauce using the larger can of tomatoes. I let it reduce down longer than it says in the recipe. Very simple to make! It got great reviews by my parents who 'happened' to be around. I will definitly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shananananan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
this was excellent but it seems i always tweek recipes a little to my liking or to what's on hand. i used regular bacon, about 1 cup of red onion instead of green, got rid of 2/3 of the bacon fat, added about 1/2 cup of frozen peas to the sauce and about 1/2 cup of the pasta water as well. I didn't add any extra salt and stirred in about 1 tablespoon of fresh basil at the end and used about 1/2 cup of parmesan. I also used large shell and wagon wheel pasta together. My husband and picky 16 year old son loved it. I will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon in Lynden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Just finished eating this for dinner and thought it was very easy to make and excellent. Like others I drained all but a couple TBS of the bacon grease and doubled everything but the pasta. I'll be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
We doubled the sauce ingredients as one person suggested. Great. Also good as a leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brent&Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This recipe was good alone, but l made a few minor changes that made it even better- taste-wise and health-wise. l first sauteed the chopped bacon and then drained it leaving only 3 Tbsp of grease, l added chopped vidalia onion and let that saute for about 5 minutes (until soft), then l added Frozen spinach and a the can of chopped tomato with juice- this was enough water to cook the frozen bag of spinach. l then let the onion, tomato, hot pepper flakes and spinach cook for about 7 minutes (until the spinach was fully cooked). After the pasta was cooked and drizzled with extra virgin olive oil, l added the cooked bacon pieces to the pan with spinach, tomatoes etc. so they would stay crisp. It came out WONDERFUL with a sprinkle of fresh parm. cheese. This dish tastes wonderful without bacon- if you're worried about cholesterol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fvb21687

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Extremely tasty, but as written, there is not enough sauce, even for an "Italian" dish. (Americans tend to have more sauce in their pasta dishes, whereas Italians use just enough to coat the pasta and no more. Typically, anyway.) Double everything but the pasta and salt (unless your bacon is low/no sodium, in which case you may want to double that, too) and it's perfect. Don't forget to stir the bacon in at the same time as the pasta! Also, we tried topping individual bowls with different cheeses. Parm is good, but a good feta is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BNMacKenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Great and easy! Used 6 medium/large whole tomatoes instead of the canned tomatoes. Also substituted white onions instead of the green and added mushrooms. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
i thought this recipe was great! Changes i made were i used regular thick cut bacon & just added ALOT of pepper, half a yellow onion chopped, i used the tomatoes with basil, but still used the dried basil as well. I also used one roasted red bell pepper and about a tsp red pepper flakes. Sauteed the onion & garlic until translucent then added the bell pepper for a min before adding the tomatoes, 1/2c. heavy cream and seasoning. I also used fettucini pasta since thats what i had and for the oil in the pot i used some of the bacon grease to help flavor the noodles :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was a great recipe. My family had seconds. I made to the instructions. Thanks for an easy reciepe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This is a take on an old 'po' folks' recipe my mother served us 60 years ago (& her mother probablly 30 years earlier) ... bacon/onion/tomatoes/pasta ... all the poor could afford. Cheese if we were lucky. I lived on this (along with bacon grease gravy over bread) ... it's good hot/cold/5 days later ... kept us alive for many years...:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States