Peppered Bacon and Tomato Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I made this several times-and even added some shrimp--it is very good! I did scrape some of the pepper off the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I made this recipe last night. Followed the recipe, except we used whole wheat linguine. I was going to use the suggestion of another reviewer to put in some cream into the sauce, but had none, so I used a little sour cream. Can I just say that I LOVE THIS RECIPE??? Excellent, and easy. The best of both words. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dyer, Indiana, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Was great when it was hot, but I didn't care for the cold leftovers. Next time I think I will keep the sauce and noodles separate. I didn't use onion (allergic) but used half an orange and yellow pepper instead. Also added one 8oz can tomato sauce in addition to the diced tomatoes (no salt added can) to create more sauce and added some red pepper flakes (1/4tsp) to give it some heat. Didn't have basil, so I used Italian Seasoning instead. And I agree with other reviewers, you don't need all the bacon grease (maybe half) and def don't add more salt. The bacon makes it salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clifton Forge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was delicious! After reading other reviews, I used half the amount of linguine called for, and actually I could have used more. I also added maybe 1/4 cup half and half, the sauce was so rich and flavorful that you don't have to 'cover' the linguine with it. As for the salt, I think it depends on the brand of bacon, how much bacon & bacon drippings you decide to use. So simmer for a few minutes and then taste to see if salt is needed. Great recipe even cold the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eatonville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Made this and it was good. However, after cooking the bacon and setting it aside, it was never mentioned again. I put the bacon in about 5 minutes before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Excellent! However, I also doubled everything except the Bacon and Pasta. Had some fresh Basil so I chopped it. I deglazed the pan after browning the bacon to keep from getting to much pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
a little dry but i will add more tomatoes next time! overall very good and I will definately be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helena
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I used this dish as a base to make a more substantial variation. I added chicken that I had marinated in balsamic dressing and baked in the oven and sliced. I also used plain bacon (all I saw at the store) and omitted the extra salt. After the bacon cooked I left enough grease in the pan to sautee 4 cloves of garlic (love the stuff) and added a can of diced tomatoes that had onions in it (saved me a step). I let that simmer for a bit, stirring up the bits of bacon and then I added a bag of spinach and let it wilt. I put my pasta, bacon, parmesan cheese, chicken in a large bowl and added some balls of fresh mozzarella then topped with the sauce and tossed it all together. The mozzarella melted slightly and all of the flavors blended together amazingly. Delicious!!! Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
My husband absolutely loved this dish. I cut the amount of pasta in half because it was only the two of us and used italian diced tomatoes, otherwise everything was the same. My husband wants me to add shrimp to this dish and serve it for his birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mylalynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
this recipe was a real hit - my wife suggested we save it for important guests. I made it exactly as recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States