Peppered Bacon and Tomato Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I'm only giving this dish 3 stars because the first time I made it it was lacking and I had made it according to the recipe. The second time I made it I used the recipe as a guide and made it my own. Second time around I used 1/2 lb peppered bacon, drained off grease, 1 box bowtie pasta (prepared), 2 cans italian diced tomatoes, 2 cans petite diced tomatoes, 2 Tbsp. dried basil, 1/2 cup fat free half and half, 1 tsp. onion powder, cracked black pepper to taste and a clove of fine chopped garlic. Everyone had seconds the second time around (no one cared for it that much the first time I made it) and there was just enough left for my hubby to take to work for lunch. Much better reception for it when I changed it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Excellent Pasta! I normally cook for 6 - 8 people every night so I upped the servings to 9 for this but used 3 cans of Garlic, Basil, Oregano Tomatoes and allow it to simmer closer to 20 min. This gives it a deeper flavor and thickens the sauce alot. I can see us having this once a month. It's really good. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Delicious! I doubled the tomatoes and used fettucine and it came out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snugabugl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
good idea to put bacon in the sauce. i wish i would have used 2 cans of diced tomatoes (italian flavoring). instead, i added almost a jar of spaghetti sauce. i added chicken, but then i remembered that i don't like chicken in tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Our whole family loves this. Could use a little more flavor to stick to the pasta..havent quite figures out our taste of what we want..but we have made this a few times and really like it. Drained the bacon to 1/2 the fat amount...didnt effect the end result. like i said we will try different herbs and spices to add a little to it..but other than that we all love it...not usual in our home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I have made this recipe 2 times, and both times it was GREAT!!. I used 1 and 1/2 lbs peppered bacon, drained off most of the bacon grease. Then added the 1 bunch of chopped green onion , garlic and 2 cans of diced tomatoes. Sauteed for a short while, then added back the bacon and the cooked pasta. Topped with fresh grated parmesan cheese. My family loves this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby2cute

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Excellent! I did as others have said and discarded most of the bacon drippings, just using the thin layer that clung to the pan to saute the onion. I left out the garlic because my father-in-law is allergic. This is a super easy meal that my whole family loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GriffsMom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was yummy! I love recipes that don't have a million ingredients. Our picky kids even ate it without bribery. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
THIS HAS BECOME MY HUSBANDS ALL TIME FAVORITE!! WE LOVE IT!MMUMM MMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Walden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This was a great recipe and easy to make. I don't agree with the other posters who thought it needed more sauce. I coated the pasta with olive oil then tossed the linguine in the sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States