Peppered Bacon and Tomato Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Wow, this dish is great. I followed others' reviews and added half & half to the sauce, and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
love love love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElyseTwichell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I would have liked a thicker sauce but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Great recipe! I got "delicious" on this one! No leftovers too (which is a pretty rare occasion in my house)!! With that said, I made a few alterations, based on other reviews and based on what I had available. Ingredient changes: used only 1/2 lb pasta, used regular bacon, used only 9 oz diced tomatoes (had used only 1/3 of a can earlier in the week, so I had 2/3 left that I wanted to use up). Method changes: Only reserved 1-2 Tbl of bacon grease to cook in, added about 1/4 or 1/3c of chicken stock when adding the tomatoes (otherwise, would not have been enough sauce even with halving the pasta), and I added a bit of flour (the kind you use to make gravy) to help it thicken. I will be making this often! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This was very quick and easy to make. It was eaten (my 8 year old didn't like it) but I wasn't wowed enough to make it again. It seemed like it was missing something to jazz it up bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
So I made it almost exactly as listed but I did follow other reviewers suggestions and ended up making about half the linguine and the full amount of the sauce. I'm happy I did, if I had halved the sauce too, i would have ended up with way to little. I love sauce :) I also omited the salt and it definitely didnt need it. All that being said I absolutely loved this recipe! I've had it in my recipe box for 2 years but never made it because my husband doesn't like anything w/chunks of tomato in it, so this week he worked 2nd shift and I jumped on the chance to make this. This will now be one of my go to recipes when my husband isn't around. It's also extremely easy and quick to make which is always a plus in my book since I work fulltime and have a very active 3 yr old at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I read the reviews before making this recipe. I used half of the pasta that it called for and doubled the garlic. Could have drained some of the bacon grease of, but my husband and I thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamilton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
My husband and I enjoyed it. Next time I will drain off more of the bacon grease, omit the salt and use regular bacon. I don't think peppered bacon is a must. I enjoyed it cold too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I probably would double everything since I like more sauce and flavor. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
If I could give this 3.5 stars I would. I think it has the potential to be a great recipe with a few tweaks. After reading and combining a few reviews, I used 3/4 lb. of bacon, cooked over low heat (cooks more evenly that way), 1 can of diced tomatoes, 1/2 a white onion, 1 cup chicken broth and 1/2 cup of half and half. Oh, I also drained off all but a tablespoon or two of the bacon grease. Since the sauce was thin I added a few scoops of the starchy pasta water to the sauce to help it stick to the pasta. I didn't like the cream addition, personally, and I wish I had've put a second can of diced tomatoes in, but I didn't have it on hand. I'll keep playing with this recipe until I get it right. It reminded me of bruschetta combined with pasta and bacon... and who doesn't love that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States