Peppered Bacon and Tomato Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Great and easy! Used 6 medium/large whole tomatoes instead of the canned tomatoes. Also substituted white onions instead of the green and added mushrooms. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
i thought this recipe was great! Changes i made were i used regular thick cut bacon & just added ALOT of pepper, half a yellow onion chopped, i used the tomatoes with basil, but still used the dried basil as well. I also used one roasted red bell pepper and about a tsp red pepper flakes. Sauteed the onion & garlic until translucent then added the bell pepper for a min before adding the tomatoes, 1/2c. heavy cream and seasoning. I also used fettucini pasta since thats what i had and for the oil in the pot i used some of the bacon grease to help flavor the noodles :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was a great recipe. My family had seconds. I made to the instructions. Thanks for an easy reciepe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This is a take on an old 'po' folks' recipe my mother served us 60 years ago (& her mother probablly 30 years earlier) ... bacon/onion/tomatoes/pasta ... all the poor could afford. Cheese if we were lucky. I lived on this (along with bacon grease gravy over bread) ... it's good hot/cold/5 days later ... kept us alive for many years...:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was very good and different. I too could not find peppered bacon, so I bought thick sliced bacon then rubbed it with cracked pepper. Worked fine. I also used two cans of tomatoes to make more sauce and we like a little sugar to take away the acidity...so I added 1Tbsp. sugar. I might have been missing something, but I don't believe the original recipe indicated when to put the bacon in, it just said "drain, reserving drippings and set aside", but as indicated by others, I added the bacon just before serving. I definately would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetpea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
this was amazing! I added some chopped artichoke hearts and I think clams or mussels would top it off perfectly if I had it on hand. I took out about 3/4 of the bacon grease though and added a little olive oil to make it a little healthier... I put the crispy bacon bits on the side because it's good with out the bacon too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
The first time I made this it was very good and went over well. I too like a lot of sauce so I diced and cooked a pound of Peppered Bacon, it cooks down a lot. I added a 10 oz can of Ro-Tel and one can of diced tomatoes with Jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Oh my -- this was fabulous! Actually had all of the ingredients on hand. OK, I did alter it a bit - not because I'm all that creative, but didn't want to use all of the bacon grease so substituted olive oil. And, had a can of mushrooms - threw them it. And, put a few ounces of white wine in, as I was having some for din din. My husband said it was one of THE best pastas I have ever made. Oh yeah, didn't have pepper bacon, used regular bacon, but ground in a lot of pepper. Very, very easy recipe and can be served to company for a certain homerun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
this was a great recipe! only suggestion is like those above, it does need more liquid, i doubled the tomatoes and actually added 8 oz of chicken broth because i had it on had. also used 1 TBLSPN fresh basil instead because i had it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Wanted to make this recipe but only had pancetta on hand so used that instead of the bacon and it turned out just delicious. I enjoyed the sauce as it is a nice light sauce...great for summer. Next time I will add toasted pine nuts. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States