Peppered Bacon and Tomato Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This is a take on an old 'po' folks' recipe my mother served us 60 years ago (& her mother probablly 30 years earlier) ... bacon/onion/tomatoes/pasta ... all the poor could afford. Cheese if we were lucky. I lived on this (along with bacon grease gravy over bread) ... it's good hot/cold/5 days later ... kept us alive for many years...:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was very good and different. I too could not find peppered bacon, so I bought thick sliced bacon then rubbed it with cracked pepper. Worked fine. I also used two cans of tomatoes to make more sauce and we like a little sugar to take away the acidity...so I added 1Tbsp. sugar. I might have been missing something, but I don't believe the original recipe indicated when to put the bacon in, it just said "drain, reserving drippings and set aside", but as indicated by others, I added the bacon just before serving. I definately would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetpea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
this was amazing! I added some chopped artichoke hearts and I think clams or mussels would top it off perfectly if I had it on hand. I took out about 3/4 of the bacon grease though and added a little olive oil to make it a little healthier... I put the crispy bacon bits on the side because it's good with out the bacon too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
The first time I made this it was very good and went over well. I too like a lot of sauce so I diced and cooked a pound of Peppered Bacon, it cooks down a lot. I added a 10 oz can of Ro-Tel and one can of diced tomatoes with Jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Oh my -- this was fabulous! Actually had all of the ingredients on hand. OK, I did alter it a bit - not because I'm all that creative, but didn't want to use all of the bacon grease so substituted olive oil. And, had a can of mushrooms - threw them it. And, put a few ounces of white wine in, as I was having some for din din. My husband said it was one of THE best pastas I have ever made. Oh yeah, didn't have pepper bacon, used regular bacon, but ground in a lot of pepper. Very, very easy recipe and can be served to company for a certain homerun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
this was a great recipe! only suggestion is like those above, it does need more liquid, i doubled the tomatoes and actually added 8 oz of chicken broth because i had it on had. also used 1 TBLSPN fresh basil instead because i had it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Wanted to make this recipe but only had pancetta on hand so used that instead of the bacon and it turned out just delicious. I enjoyed the sauce as it is a nice light sauce...great for summer. Next time I will add toasted pine nuts. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This was really delicious--a nice change from the usual pasta sauce. I followed other reviewers suggestion to add cream, and it finished it off very nicely. Try this--you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I've made this one several times. Instead of canned tomatoes I used fresh diced also I oven roasted a few Roma tomatoes with garlic and diced them as well. This recipe is fine the way it is but I thought it would taste better with fresh ingredients. I have given this recipe out countless times. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samuel
Home Town: Bridge City, Texas, USA
Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was very good. It was a different taste and the more I ate, the more I liked it. I did not find it greasy. I poured off all but a couple of tablespoons of the bacon grease and I don't think anything was missed. I also used fire roasted tomatos. We will have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CGG

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 81-90 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States