Peppered Bacon and Tomato Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was a perfect example of an Italian pasta dish. The sauce was light and the pasta stood out. When cooking Italian and needing extra moisture to make the sauce coat the noodle, you simply add a ladle of the pasta water. This is not like the Americanized pasta where the sauce sits on top of the pasta. A really tasty dish. Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sinn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This is such a great dish. I added wayyyy more garlic than was called for, but that's my family--we are garlic lovers. I also halved the amount of of pasta and used whole-grain. AND I used turkey bacon, which rendored very little fat....just enough to cook the garlic. It was healthier, but (I believe) just as tasty. My 8 year old asked me if we could make this EVERY night...and she is a very very picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I love 30 minute meals and this is another. I am building a repetoire of these types of recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is a delicious, quick and easy recipe that won my boyfriend's heart over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This was okay... I tripled the sauce which was fine (not too much sauce) but didn't triple the pasta or the bacon. Thing is, the bacon kind of got lost in in the sauce and yes, it did get soggy. I probably won't make this again ... but if I did I'd definitely hold off putting the bacon in the sauce and instead let everyone sprinkle it on their individual plates. That way you'd actually taste the bacon, and it wouldn't be so soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I thought that it was pretty good, thanks! I loved that it was cheap, flavorful, and super easy to make. To be honest, I actually preferred it without the extra bacon on top (better as a snack while cooking or for something else), as it ruined the balance of the flavors. I also added a orange pepper, but only because it was in the fridge and needed to be eaten. A nice addition though! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Was a delicious and easy recipe! I took the advice of others and molded the recipe a little bit. I added lots of garlic and used fresh basil. I didn't have peppered bacon so I used normal bacon, lightly drizzled with olive oil and lots of pepper - so delicious! I used one can of diced tomatos and one can of whole italian peeled tomatos! I let it simmer for 15-20 minutes with the bacon and added some sliced field mushrooms for extra texture. Delicious, smokey and a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
just so - so
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Good starter recipe. I put 4 cans of tomatoes insted of the one. I also added some mushrooms. Good recipe though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George West, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I'm only giving this dish 3 stars because the first time I made it it was lacking and I had made it according to the recipe. The second time I made it I used the recipe as a guide and made it my own. Second time around I used 1/2 lb peppered bacon, drained off grease, 1 box bowtie pasta (prepared), 2 cans italian diced tomatoes, 2 cans petite diced tomatoes, 2 Tbsp. dried basil, 1/2 cup fat free half and half, 1 tsp. onion powder, cracked black pepper to taste and a clove of fine chopped garlic. Everyone had seconds the second time around (no one cared for it that much the first time I made it) and there was just enough left for my hubby to take to work for lunch. Much better reception for it when I changed it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States