Peppercorn-Seasoned Steaks with Mustard-Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Excellent steak recipe! One of the best from allrecipes! The mustard wine sauce mixture is fantastic! May I suggest the addition of a teaspoon of olive oil as you add in the butter in the mustard wine sauce to thicken the sauce. I will definitely do this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
amazing recipe. We grilled the steak on the BBQ (30 secs per side on high then 5 mins per side on low) fried buttter and green onion but added mushrooms (1/4 cup) /coooked in fry pan 5 mins/ then added wine;broth;dijon put the broth mixture in a bowl and poured over steak - made homeade fettucine and the dinner was incredible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Didn't change a thing and this was melt in your mouth delicious. Excellent flavors in the sauce to accompany the tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
First time I've been able to use the frying concept to prepare steak with such great results. I didn't have shallots,only had vidalia onions and I also added a minced garlic clove, turned out very tasty. This recipe is a keeper and so much easier to clean up after versus using the broiler or grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This recipe is fantastic!! It was so easy to make too. I used top loin New York steak (it was on sale for a great price!) and regular onions instead of shallots because that's what I had. I heated olive oil at med-high heat and made sure the pan was H-O-T before adding the meat. This way you sear the outside and it makes a "crust" to seal in juices. I'm new to cooking steak so I still need to work on proper cooking time. I added mushrooms along with the onions. I'm looking forward to making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
We enjoyed this recipe. I prefer seasoning a steak while preparing it like this recipe instead of marinating it. Some marinades I have been trying are so overbearing that you only taste marinade and can't even tell you are eating steak any more! Next time I will probably only use half the mustard but that is just a personal preference. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Fuquay Varina, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I made this yesterday for my family cause we also had some guest over. I got some great reviews on it. It was great and the sauce was amazing. Who ever made this recipe thank you...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I made a crucial mistake and continued to simmer the sauce for well over 10 minutes. Too much water evaporated and left me with a very salty sauce. I even added unsalted butter at the end and then some water but there was no cutting the concentrated taste. Using a beef boullion cube dissolved in water instead of stock was also a mistake. Next time I'll use real beef stock and make sure not to reduce too long. While it was very salty it was still edible drizzling the tiniest bit on top the steaks and letting it mix with the meat's juices. No one's fault but my own so I'm rating a four because I'm sure I would have liked it if done properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Wonderful!! My DH made this for dinner and it was a huge hit. We will definitely be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I thought this recipe was pretty good. My family gave me great reviews on it. I rated it a four because I thought it should of had more flavor to it. It was a bit bland. All-in-all it was good but next time I think I will try to add something to it to get more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryjane

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States