Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I cooked mine in a slow cooker due to schedules & b/c I like my steaks, if not very rare, then very tender and it came out wonderful and extremely tender. First, I placed the bouillon & water in the slow cooker. Then I followed all the steps in the recipe as directed up to the cornstarch - I also omitted the water chestnuts b/c I didn’t have any. Once all the steps were complete, I placed everything in the slow cooker, except the green peppers, which I added during the last hour of cooking to maintain texture; in the meantime, I combined the soy sauce, water and sugar in a small bowl and stirred into the meat in the cooker and cooked on low for a little over 4 hours. When ready to serve, I placed everything back into the skillet and combined the cornstarch with a little water. I then added the cornstarch mixture to the skillet, stirred, and cooked for about 2 minutes until thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
My Rating: Excellent basic recipe; I agree with the many others who have rated this recipe. This recipe is wonderful because you can actually modify it to your liking and it still turns out good, at least for the most part – especially if you are a cook. If you are not a cook, I would suggest you make the recipe as is first, determine what you don't like – if anything, and then adjust the next time. My Changes: Instead of using the suggested amount of meat, I used a little more – 1-1/2 lbs. of sirloin beef, I cooked it a little longer than 1 minute (more like 8 minutes—I like more well-done). I just used the salt and pepper to season the meat. I didn’t use the additional 2 teaspoons of cooking oil, instead I used 2 tablespoons of butter to sauté my veggies in the same skillet that the meat was cooked in to make them a little more tender and crisp and flavor; I added the garlic and ginger at this point as well. Additionally, I added the 1 tablespoon of cornstarch to the veggies while sautéing. I added an additional cup of water after adding the meat to the skillet. I also added more cornstarch to thicken the sauce to my liking (don’t know how much more—just added a little at a time and let it boil a little each time). This made me have more sauce, and thicker – I don’t like the sauce to thick, but not to runny either; thick enough that a thin layer will coat the back of a spoon or folk. I don’t like water-chestnuts, so I didn’t use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This was a great basic recipe for pepper steak. I think if i make it again I will not let the peppers get too tender. I mistimed the cooking time. Also I like a thicker sauce and would add more cornstarch to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Bell peppers were on sale at the store, so I used the green ones plus the red & yellow ones. The water chestnuts added a nice crunch. It was an easy, fast dinner, and everyone loved it! I'm going to add that recipe to my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
My daughter (aged 17 and the pickiest eater of all time!!!) thinks this is better than any she's ever tasted. I had to leave out the water chestnuts but I've made it 3 times now and the whole family loves it. It's quick and easy! When I buy the steak, I slice it before freezing. When I leave for work in the morning I throw the meat in the frig. When I get home it's thawed. My daughter starts cooking the meat while I slice onions and green peppers. Done in 15 minutes! YEAH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Followed directions and it was wonderful!!! Did not add water chestnuts. highly recmnd
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I've tried several pepper steak recipes and this was a good one. I used reduced sodium bouillon and soy sauce, and replaced the sugar with 1/2 of a packet of sugar substitute. Very good. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Half Moon Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I had to improvise some but this dish is very versitile. I used fresh mushrooms, had to omit the waterchestnuts, had none on hand. Will definitely use them next time. This dish is so quick to make and very tasty. Thanks Jeanne for another keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was a good quality pepper steak, throughout my travels and years as a professional chef I have had the pleasure of sampling many variations of this recipe and thus far I have found this particular one to be quite superior, although not exactly authentic what is these days...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodiemac

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This was a very good recipe - I made with 2 packages of unseasoned ramon noddles, tossed with seasame seed oil. I used 1 red, 1 yellow and 1 green pepper pepper instead of all green, and no waterchestnuts. I cooked everything with butter rather than oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States