Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I gave this 5 stars because it's amazing with some tweaking, but I did not make it exactly as written and will keep the changes I made when I make it again. Omitting the extra tsp of salt and using low sodium soy sauce is a must - with the boullion it has plenty already and if I hadn't made that change it would have been inedible. You can always add more salt but you can't take it out. I also used 2 peppers instead of 3 and 1 onion (I used a sweet yellow onion) instead of 2. Otherwise the veggies would completely overpower the meat and stretch the sauce too thin - the steak should be the main event. I also omitted the water chestnuts, I like them but think they were unnecessary for this dish. With those changes it was fantastic though and is definitely going into the rotation for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
So good - very much like what one would find at Chinese restaurants!!! Everyone, including my two year old, loved it! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I wasn't able to fit both onions and both peppers in my largest pan, so my results aren't quite what they maybe should be, but I loved the flavor. There was plenty of sauce to serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Providence, Utah, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is the first time Ive made pepper steak. But my husband who eats it out a lot says its great. I halved the recipe and didnt use water chestnuts (not on hand), reduced sodium soy sauce, only a pinch of sugar and instead of the water and beef bouillon i just added veg. broth. Really quick, healthy, easy and will make it again for sure!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was a good quality pepper steak, throughout my travels and years as a professional chef I have had the pleasure of sampling many variations of this recipe and thus far I have found this particular one to be quite superior, although not exactly authentic what is these days...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodiemac

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Tried it in the slow cooker and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
It was good, but not as flavorful as I thought it would be with all the ingredients. Almost seems easier and tastier to buy the dry mixture in a package. Will try again and play around with the spices to add more zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was fine, but nothing special. The sauce was not very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I have made this several times. It's easy to make and taste's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mullica Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I loved the recipe. I did change a couple of things. I used one medium yellow onion and two medium shallots. I also added an 1/8 teaspoon of sesame oil to give it more of an asian flare. I substituted beef stock for the bouillon, and sliced almonds in place of the chestnuts. I heated the stock up in the microwave with the almonds in it to soften them up. The meal came out delicious and the health factor is what really makes this a five star recipe !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States