Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This recipe was good but could use a little tweaking. It was a tad bland for our tastes. The only thing I changed was I used two cloves of garlic instead of one and only two green peppers instead of three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I have to give this a 5 star rating! My family absolutely loved it! There are 3 of us and this makes 6 servings .. there wasn't any left, most of it being eaten by my very finicky daughter! The only thing I done different was that it called fro water chestnuts which I didn't have so I left them out, and I doubled the part of the recipe that makes the sauce because we like lots of sauce. Thank-you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bennywrinkles
Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This has really good flavor - My husband likes it, too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan  and Alison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
A keeper! Followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I just finished making this dish, and it was fantastic! I added carrots and mushrooms to the vegetable mixture and reduced the bell peppers according to my family's tastes, and also upped the cornstarch for a little thicker of a sauce. I've saved this recipe, and I have a feeling we'll be eating more pepper steak around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hippycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksboro, Texas, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This is really good. The only changes I made were, I added 1 can of beef broth with the water and bouillon, and increased the corn starch to 3 tbls. This made a lot more gravy which we love. I also omitted the ginger. I only used 1/2 an onion and I used 1/2 of a green pepper, 1/2 an orange pepper and 1 whole red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Have to agree with many of the comments here about this recipe. Its difficult to "mess this up". You can definitely variate a bit, but do so once you are comfortable with this recipe. I like using different colors of bell peppers (not just green) and have rarely used the water chestnuts because one of our kids dont like them - and it was still delicious. Bear in mind that you don't want to overcook the meat - so stretching it past 10 minutes is probably not a great idea. Otherwise I have definitely added more meat to this recipe and have made it less "watery" and more liquidy - depending on my mood. Each time it was just great. If you use minced garlic from a jar - make sure its fresh. Otherwise wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This is really good. The sauce thickens up beautifully and has just the right amount of sweetness. No more packet sauces for me! I did increase the amount of hot water to 1 cup and the bouillon to one tsp. I also excluded the water chestnuts. This would be great with mushrooms as well. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mande B.
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This is awesome! The only thing I have changed is not having the water chestnuts. My family has added this to the favorite list which has earned it a rotation on the monthly menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Linwood, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Great Pepper Steak. Followed direction exactly. Turned out great. Whole family loved it. Just as good or better than take out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States