Pepper Steak and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2002
Kind of bland...maybe soy sauce should be used in place of the browning sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I used soy sauce because I didn't know what browning sauce is. However, I used more than 1 teaspoon. I just kind of seasoned to taste. We enjoyed it and it was very quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
Absolutely delicious...even my husband can cook this and make it perfectly - wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
My family was very happy with this recipe Helen. After sauteing the vegies and meat I put everything into my slow cooker. I replaced the water with a can of beef consomme and beef broth and added a few more seasonings. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
This recipe is good but a little bland. Recommend "kicking it up" a bit with soy sauce and a combination of black and white peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
good flavor, but definately needed soy added. My husband enjoyed it, but agreed the flavor lacked something, until we added soy sauce! Then it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
This recipe was absolutely fabulous! I followed everything as stated, however I added fresh mushrooms. Every Sunday I ask my husband what he would like for dinner and he never tells me, but this one time, he said, "too bad you don't know how to make steak and gravy." I knew where I could find a recipe and it came out great. He went back for seonds. And the gravy was so flavorable, I ate rice, gravy and mushrooms while I waited for him to get home.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
This came out delicious~! Next time I would use only 1 tbsp of corn starch. It came out way too thick for our taste and I fixed it by adding some beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
A little bland. I did as the previous reviews suggested and added a tbsp of soy sauce, however it was still lacking something. I added some plain table salt to my own plate once I served it and it was terrific. So...when making it in the future I think I will add about a tbsp of salt during prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THECHEF3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
This was really good. I followed the suggestion to use soy rather than browning sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States