Pepper Steak and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
NOT BAD, BUT I DID HAVE TO ADD A FEW THINGS TO GIVE IT FLAVOUR. I LIKE TO MAKE RECIPES THAT ARE EXCELLENT WITHOUT HAVING TO CHANGE OR ADD TO IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This had too much cornstrach, you could really taste it in the sauce. Will look for a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
We really like this dish. This is the second time that I have made it and the only thing I did different was use 2 cups water and soy sauce for the browning sauce. For those who don't know what browning sauce is, it is made by Kitchen Bouquet and it is called Browning and Seasoning Sauce. I've used it to make brown gravey from the juices of a roast. I will be making this dish often. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Was an okay, average meal, but not really impressive in flavour or presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
I cooks this for my fiance & he loved it. I added about a tablespoon of cooking sherry to boost the flavor. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Not as flavorful as I have had in the past-but it still came out pretty good. I will increase some of the spices next go around. I did substitue beef bullion cubes for the browning sauce and used ground oninons & garlic powder since that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
What a keeper! I used red bell peppers instead of green and it still turned out great. I also went ahead and substituted the brown sauce for soy sauce instead. This is a great recipe and it had TONS of flavor. I added a lot of pepper to my dish, hey this is pepper steak afterall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This did not have very much flavor. I personally would rate it lower but my husband did like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
I didn't really like the taste of this. I found it to be kind of bland. I didn't feel that I got much flavour from the onions and peppers. Maybe I would have liked it a bit better if I had tried it with the soya sauce as some of the other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Very Very Good. I purchased beef stir fry and marinated it in Soy Sauce, Black Pepper, Garlic Salt and a splash of red wine. I sauted a bag of frozen Pepper Stir Fry in olive oil and then added the meat. The gravy was delish with a little doctoring. I also added some red pepper flakes and I used Adobo instead of season salt with an extra splash of Soy. My husband gave it two thumbs up. Was really good but there were no left overs at all. Only fed 2. Oh well. My meat came out a little tough but I would definately make again. My friend said to buy rib eye and slice it. Any suggestions with meat?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States