Pepper Steak and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This recipe is great. I used kitchen bouquet just for the color, because thats what my mom did, and soy sauce and salt for taste. Used Jasmine rice. Even my son the soldier loved it, and he doesn't like bell pepper or onion. Way to go Helen, definatly worth the ink to print it for my recipe folder. Would have given it 5 stars except there was no soy sauce in the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Pearson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
we added just a bit of brown sugar to ours , just because we like sweet chinese food, but it was great!even the leftovers were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I tend to find that stir fry type things over white rice just don't do it for me. I decided instead to put this over salad. I sauted the onion and bell pepper as directed, leaving the pepper still kind of crunchy; added the steak, used garlic powder (I hate dealing with garlic) a dash of paprika and black pepper, and for "browning sauce", I used a bit of soy sauce. I cut out the cornstarch and just used what I came up with to top over romaine lettuce and spinach leaves. It was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This recipes was very good except for one thing. The meat was extremely tough. I followed the advice of another poster and marinated the meat for several hours. Still came out tough. Next time, I will slow cook the meat in the marinade so that it becomes tender and then add it to the sauce. I also used beef broth instead of water as it did seem bland. Overall, I give this recipe a thumbs up with a little tweeking. I think I will add more veggies next time also. Maybe some pea pods and bean sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojofilini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Clair Shores, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe, I did not add the cornstarch, I added more water and seasonings such as garlic powder, steak spice and old bay which gave this a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SalleyTheGreat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This dish was quick and easy to prepare. I agree with others that it lacks flavor. I used what I thought was enough salt but still was kind of bland. My kids didn’t think it was bland, they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I made this for dinner last night and it was a hit! Even my 3 kids cleaned their plates. I used soy sauce instead of browning sauce. I also added a touch of worchestershire sauce for an extra kick of flavor. Very good dish, will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I replaced the water with beef broth...that seemed to give it an extra little kick :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I've made this recipe both as stated and with me adding more to it. This recipe as states is LACKING flavor. Very very bland. This is what I did to revise it....I added teriyaki sauce to about 1/2 cup of water for the "browning sauce" I used 3 cloves of garlic instead of 2...I used a whole large onion, salt and pepper to taste, paprika to taste ..I also steamed broccoli to stir in with the beef and rice...it was delicious..hubby asked to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
this was very good i did use extra garlic but thats just because we like garlic. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States