Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
I had a recipe for Pepper jelly that I lost and this one is the closest to come to the great flavor my old recipe offered. This recipe is easy, quick and the taste is wonderful. Thanks for offering such an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Turned out sooo good! I followed others suggestions and increased my peppers to 2 cups, using 1/2 a large jalapeno with some seeds, 1 1/2 large green bell peppers, a tiny bit of a red pepper I had leftover, and a dash of red pepper flakes. I also used 1/2 white vinegar, 1/2 apple cider vinegar. I then doubled the amount of pectin for a firmer set, which I prefer. This is even better than the kind I bought from a specialty store at pike place market! Soo flavorful and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
I've been making this for years and it's wonderful BUT use equal amounts sweet green and red peppers - the colour of the jelly will be a wonderful amber hue. Also, do use your food processor that's what those blades are for! By the way, this jelly is a wonderful accompaniment for roast pork! Kay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Greetings everyone, I hope you're all well. My Aunt use to make this many years ago but never passed down the recipe before she passed away. Thank you for adding this recipe here. Hint: If you par boil the peppers at a rolling boil for about 15 minutes, strain off the pulp before adding the sugar and pectin, add green or red food coloring, the jelly results come out a very nice clearish colors. like a jelly instead of a jam. It's still very hot, just more of a jelly consistency. This jelly goes great with black eyed peas, smoked sausages, gumbo...ect It's also my secret ingredient to my famous homemade Bar B Que sauce. shhhhhhhh ( smiles ) Thanks again for sharing this recipe. I thought it had been lost along with my Aunt Louise. Sincerely, Shane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royston, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
The flavor of this jelly is wonderful. I did increase the number of peppers to 3 cups as suggested above. However, it only gelled to a honey-like consistency. I think the addition of more pectin would give it the proper boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Excellent product. I accidently discovered that if you only add 1/2 the sugar at first, then add the rest after the pectin. Add a couple of minutes boiling and you get a wonderful honeylike texture and sweetness that is out of this world. Add food color for Christmas cheer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I make this for Christmas gifts each year. I use red bell peppers instead of green to give it a festive reddish hue, and add jalapeno and/or habanero peppers to give it more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was the best pepper jelly I have ever made! I tweaked it a bit by using 3 cups of mixed jalapenos & sweet green peppers & used 1 cup lemon juice and 1/2 cup vinegar instead of using all vinegar. Before jarring it, I added green food coloring - it is beautiful & jelled perfectly. It is now the only hot pepper jelly recipe I will ever use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
WOW!!! I used red peppers instead of the green and 1C of bottled lemon juice and 1/2C of vinegar, no food colouring and OH MY!! It jelled beautifully and after processing the lids popped right away! It made 5 250ml jars. I used the shredding wheel of my food processor and removed any large skins. There was hardly any skimming to do and what there was, was easy to skim as the jelly had become a little firm at that point. You will not be disappointed in this! They're sitting on my kitchen counter just sparkling!! Thank you for this recipe! It's a keeper!! Now. Our bottled wine is calling me...red wine and cranberry jelly, or pink zinfandel jelly? ;-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I just made this and it was great. I added about half a cup of jalapenos with seeds to it and a little less sugar and it set perfect and tasted awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States