Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
I've been making this for years and it's wonderful BUT use equal amounts sweet green and red peppers - the colour of the jelly will be a wonderful amber hue. Also, do use your food processor that's what those blades are for! By the way, this jelly is a wonderful accompaniment for roast pork! Kay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
The flavor of this jelly is wonderful. I did increase the number of peppers to 3 cups as suggested above. However, it only gelled to a honey-like consistency. I think the addition of more pectin would give it the proper boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
I had a recipe for Pepper jelly that I lost and this one is the closest to come to the great flavor my old recipe offered. This recipe is easy, quick and the taste is wonderful. Thanks for offering such an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Excellent product. I accidently discovered that if you only add 1/2 the sugar at first, then add the rest after the pectin. Add a couple of minutes boiling and you get a wonderful honeylike texture and sweetness that is out of this world. Add food color for Christmas cheer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
Although this recipe has a great taste I would suggest you use 3 cups of chopped red peppers or a combination of red and green. The 1 1/2 cups of peppers the recipe calls for is not nearly enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
The recipe was easy to follow and gelled quite nicely, but the jelly was far too sweet. You could barely taste the peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
The amount of vinegar in this recipe overwhems everything! I reccomend using mostly lemon juice, a bit of lemon zest, and just a fraction on the vinegar (apple cider is much more palatable, by the way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I make this for Christmas gifts each year. I use red bell peppers instead of green to give it a festive reddish hue, and add jalapeno and/or habanero peppers to give it more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2000
This makes a good jelly, but, if you have any problems with peppers, be careful! Putting peppers thru the food processor then removing the lid can cause breathing problems for people w/allergies. Also, remember to wear gloves and if you have an itch, DON'T scratch. Kids should NOT prepare this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This is wonderful served with crackers and strawberry cream cheese! I add 2 drops of green food coloring and 2 tsp of crushed red pepper. I appreciate the recommendation to use lemon with just small amount of vineager--it is a little potent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States